My reviews (22)

Moroccan-Style Roasted Chicken with Peaches

This is a modified version of the Moroccan dish, Djedjad. It uses fresh peaches instead of apricots. It's a sweet chicken dish, which goes very well with fresh white rice.
Reviews (22)


02 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Simone
This recipe is awesome. Don't worry if you don't have rose water, it will still taste just fine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Beverly Jane
Made exactly as stated and it was extremely pretty and tasted great. Mine got a wee bit overcooked as the phone rang just before serving, but not the recipe fault. This would be lovely as a dish to serve company and I think other fruits or nuts could be used too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Sep 2008
I added a grated onion to the peaches plus 1 tp of cinammon to the sugar over the peaches. I think it will be great also with quinces. In that case add more sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Juliema
Yummy! This recipe hit the spot for me. I had a bunch of peaches to use up and found this recipe. I used breasts as it's what I had and followed another's advice and used some diced onion and a sprinkle of cinnamon as well. Will definitely add it to my rotation. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Dakota1200
I added a little cinnamon and 3 sweet potatoes, cut into medallions at the beginning. This recipe has a unique flavor that I loved. Served on white rice with the pan sauce. It turned out perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Kelly
Excellent! I was looking for something savory to make with an overabundance of fresh peaches, and this sounded interesting. I loved it! I tasted the honey-butter sauce after pouring it over the chicken, and was horrified at the extremely salty taste, but that went away. I used the rosewater because I had it, but don't go out of your way to buy it; the flavor doesn't really come through (that was kind of a disappointment). I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts because that's all we eat, and seared them on the stovetop in a little additional butter. I then added the sliced peaches and poured the sauce over all. I didn't use the tablespoon of sugar. I then put the skillet in the oven and baked for 20 minutes at 400. The result was delicious! A bite of chicken & peach together was wonderful! I highly recommend using the toasted slivered almonds because they add a welcome crunch and flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: rooth
Wonderful! I used vanilla instead of rose water. There were 2 pieces leftover so I am making chicken salad for lunch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Clarissa Chapman Spehl
Holy Moly, I got the hubby to eat a peach!! He usually won't have anything to do with them. I didn't have any rose water (could have made some if I had been a little more prepared but it didn't hurt the tastiness) and I cut the skin off of the chicken thighs-butter AND skin seemed excessive. To brown the thighs it took a little more than 15 minutes (probably 20).
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: JDutton
I just made this dish tonight and my boyfriend and I loved it. All the flavors worked really well together and I think that it could be very versatile. The next time I make it, I think I'll add just a little garlic to the sauce but you could easily add cinnamon, cloves or any number of spices and still have it come out amazing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: kateskitch
I left the rose water out, as another review suggested it wouldn't make a difference. Boy, was that a bad idea! It tasted extremely bland. Don't know how it tastes with the rose water but I felt it wasn't fair for me to give this recipe a lower review since I didn't use all of the ingredients.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches