My reviews (441)

Barbecue Sauce

This is an easy to make barbecue sauce using store-cupboard staples - great for an impromptu barbecue!
Reviews (441)


27 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: pumpkinbear
Fantastic recipe! I'd been using the 'Coca Cola' barbecue sauce recipe for a while, but was rather 'meh' with the results. This one is amazing though! I quadrupled the quantities as I cook for a nursing home and it went down a storm. I used it as a dip rather than a marinade and as such, I thickened it a touch at the simmering stage by adding some cornflour mixed with cold water. When it had cooled, I was having staff keep popping into the kitchen to try it! Have bookmarked it and it's gonna be a regular feature on my menu.
 
12 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: lukelikescake
i made this and put it on a pizza instead of the normal tomato sauce, it turned out very well and i would definately recommed it
 
Comment:
16 Apr 2011
Cricket said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I found the sauce a tiny bit tart when I first tried it so added and additional 1/2 tablespoon of sugar - took the edge off without altering the essential taste. Brilliant
 
Comment:
27 May 2009
mrsevs said:
Altered ingredient amounts. This is a fantastic receipe for bbq sauce and I've had loads of complements whenever I've served it. I basically substituted the tomato ketchup for 500g passata and quadrupled the amounts to compensate. I also added smoked paprika and used Muscovado sugar ala Batfloke tweak and I think that the sauce definately benefits from this. I basically wanted a sauce to cook pancetta wrapped chicken breasts stuffed with goats cheese in, hence the larger quantity being required. I have however also served it at BBQ's as a dipping/pouring sauce. Definately a receipe that I'll be using again and again :o)
 
07 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: summerbbq
looks good, but you missed the liquid smoke which i reckon is crucial. in any case, you should try the curry barbecue sauce (or cbq) and you will never go back to ordinary barbecue again
 
Comment:
25 May 2010
Used different ingredients. I substituted mustard powder for Chinese 5 spice, it gives a nice edge for oriental cooking xx
 
Comment:
25 Jan 2009
Batfloke said:
Used different ingredients. Firstly, thanks for this fantastically simple, TASTY and quick recipe! I didn't change much. I essentially tripled the amounts of the ingredients so I had more sauce (obvious) but this made the acidity more prominent so I increased the proportion of sugar in this recipe - it sorted the acidity quick as a flash. The one thing I actually changed was the sugar. I used Dark Muscovado rather than soft brown. OK, they're much the same, but the muscovado has a slightly different texture, is stickier and is an unrefined cane so is not quite as bad. Maybe a minor difference but, I think, one with a big result. The one thing I added was ground smoked paprika. I started off by matching the amount of this to the amount of mustard powder, but then ended up adding a touch more paprika than mustard. One thing I wouldn't change is the hot sauce. Tabasco is fine but I think that another pepper-based hot-sauce may well be too fiery. Again, thanks for a fantastic recipe, but as with all cooking it's personal taste, and this is mine ;-)
 
15 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: hlotz33
Altered amounts and added quite a bit more Worcestershire sauce. Think it would be better with some liquid smoke to mask the taste of ketchup.
 
25 May 2010
Reviewed by: heardthemessage
could have made it with my eyes closed... and what a result? yummy scrummy and so versatile... i'm going to put it on some chops x God Bless
 
01 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: jandex1963
fantastic dead easy, didn't have any smoke sauce so used a good dollop of sweet chilli sauce. Gorgeous Served it with pulled pork sandwiches, potato wedges, green salad, coleslaw.... Perfect Lazy Sunday Fodder, my family loved it. Thanks for sharing
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches