My reviews (19)

Perfect pistou soup

This soup is jam packed with vegetables and flavour. It's easy to make, filling, healthy and extremely tasty. It can be served for lunch or dinner, with a nice crusty roll.
Reviews (19)


28 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: ClubFerndale
A great, hearty, healthy & low-fat soup for a chilly Fall night. Definitely add the zucchini and green beans (I added sliced baby portobello mushrooms also) toward the END of cooking time, not at the beginning, or they'll be mush. I used tiny elbow macaroni instead of broken spaghetti, and cooked it separately before adding to the pot. The tomato-basil pistou definitely makes this soup (and sidenote: try dunking some bread in the pistou before you add it all to the soup...mmm!). On it's own, it's just an ordinary (bit bland) veggie/bean soup but the pistou gives it a great flavour punch. Served with some shavings of a good parm reggiano, crusty bread, and a decent chardonnay, this is a very warming and satisfying meal. Looking forward to taking leftovers for lunch at work this week! (makes a big pot)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: ms410
After spending quite some time cubing veggies, I found them to be mushy after the 45 min simmering time....and I even simmered on low, not med-low as the recipe suggested. It just stunk that I had mush before even reaching steps 2 and 3. I hope the end result is tasty enough for me to want to try again, only this time with my alterations such as adding the zucchini after the green beans, potatoes, and carrots.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Christina Jeppson Izzo
Very yummy with a few changes. Simmer veggies minus the zucchini on low for 30 min. Add zucchini when you add the noodles. I also added swiss chard because I had it and used wheat spiral noodles again because that is what I had. Also added browned ground turkey. Important thing with soup is to use a good quality stock. My 6 yr old who every evening looks at dinner and says, "YUCKY" ate a good size bowl of this and enjoyed it. I like to cook things from all over the world and my kids and I look up on the globe where the recipe is from. Thanks for a yummy french recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Ann Maksymiw
This is an absolutely fabulous soup. The garlic in the basil pistou adds a real kick, almost like chilli. You can also change the vegetables to what you have in the fridge and I omitted the pasta and potatoes (husband is on a low carb diet). I added turnip, broad beans and only added one can of white beans (all I had). Filling as a meal (2 bowls) or a great first course. Serve with fresh crusty bread...yum.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: adrienne
Wonderful recipe! Though, I made pesto instead of pistou because I had pinenuts on hand. It's a very good idea to add the softer veggies at the end to prevent them from being over cooked. I sliced and toasted French bread and topped with extra pesto and cheese. Super yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Karen
My family loves this soup! It has become our new fall favorite. I make it with or without adding pasta. It is also good over brown rice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Leigh Ann
Yummy. Great tasting and filling meal that is meatless. I was surprised my teenage son actually could fill himself up with this meal! Will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Jennifer Bevier French
This soup has great flavor. I too used chicken broth because it's what I had on hand and added the zucchini with the pasta. I only had the parm. cheese so I didnt use the other...Still good! I wonder if the olive oil could have been less...I think probably so if you want it to be even healthier. Overall this is a good one!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 May 2010
Reviewed by: DebbieReboin15
Very nice, not enough flavor though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 May 2010
Reviewed by: covergirl
Lovely soup. I used beef and chicken broth and water and ditalini (small italian pasta) as a variant to original recipe. I find it very interesting to read what others do to modify the dish in keeping with what's in the cupboard. I also added a little salt, pepper and a shake or two of italian seasoning. The Pesto topper was crazy strong with garlic but I loved it and just added a teaspoon or so to each bowl as I served it. This will remain in my recipe box to make again. My neighbors love it when I make soup, because I share. Typical Italian!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches