My reviews (72)

Quinoa salad with dried fruit and pecans

This is a unique and tasty high-protein quinoa salad. Quinoa is a grain that has almost no flavour, but the spices add zest. It's well worth trying, I make it often since discovering quinoa.
Reviews (72)


01 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Joyousfreee
Wow, yummy! This is the best dish I have made yet with quinoa. I reduced the quinoa to 1 c. (in 2 c. chicken stock instead of water), used balsamic vinegar instead of white, 1 c. dried cranberries instead of raisins, tobasco instead of cayenne, and added about 1/2 tsp garlic powder. I also toasted the pecans before adding them. This was fabulous - definitely a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Marie C.
I love the prominent flavor the sesame oil gives to this salad. The second flavor that comes to the palate is lemon. With the crunch of the celery, nuts, and sweetness of the fruit it makes a wonderful blend of flavors and textures. I did use craisins that I chopped, and I toasted the pecans. I had the leftovers for lunch and added grilled chicken strips and fresh blueberries. Fabulous salad that is very versatile. I will make this often. Thank you for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: snperch
The recipe is very good and so versatile.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: DAWN
I made this today to take to a potluck hosted by a friend who has celiac disease. I received lots of compliments and I really enjoyed it myself! The sesame oil makes all the difference. It would also be great to alter with different nuts, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, etc. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 May 2008
Reviewed by: kristincsw
I substituted dried cranberries for the raisins, and toasted the pecans before adding them to bring out their flavor. This was delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Robin
This is a yummy salad. I omitted the sesame oil and added a bit of curry powder. I rolled it inside some butter leaf lettuce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Leah
WOAH BABY this is yummy! I love quinoa and am always looking for new ways to prepare it. Instead of raisins I added chopped dried apricots and toasted sunflower seeds/walnuts instead of pecans. I agree that 1 TBSP is plenty of sesame oil and I also found 2 TBSP of lemon juice a bit much so I added a little honey. The scallions are a must! No cilantro for me since I have a STRONG STRONG dislike of the stuff. A great recipe that is adaptable to a person's likes and whatever is hanging out in the cupboard. Thanks Natalie17!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: PEGGYW1
I used almonds instead of pecans and added dried apricots. I think almost any combination of fruit and nuts would work - so use what you like. The sesame is a dominant taste but one I enjoyed. I think the salad tastes better the next day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: JuliaKid
Very interesting combination of flavors. I used more cilantro and extra pecans and celery for crunch. I followed others advice and used half of the sesame oil and it was plenty. My vegetarian husband scarfed it down. Will make again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: FloridaJoe
This is a unique and delicious salad that is given a slightly nutty/smoky flavor by the sesame seeds. Hard to stop eating. As with many other recipes that call for raisins - we substituted craisins.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches