My reviews (86)

Baked Chicken in Sherry Sauce

Chicken breasts are topped with a slice of Swiss cheese, then baked in a sauce made from condensed mushroom soup, soured cream, sherry, butter and dill. A simple, yet elegant chicken dish.
Reviews (86)


08 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: No time for dull food
The flavor of this dish has a lot of potential. To increase the layers of flavor I made some alterations. I sauteed the chicken with salt, pepper and added 3 cloves of garlic before adding baking. This step keeps the juices in the chicken which prevents the sauce from becoming watery, as this was a complaint of many others. I also increased the sour cream by 1/4 cup and flavors melded together. I have also considered adding sauteed creminis for more texture in the sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Wldflwrs
This is one of the few recipes I've tried on AllRecipes that I didn't really tweak and it was absolutely DELICIOUS!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: jnole
This was excellent! My husband and I aren't huge fans of swiss cheese, but I decided to give this a try anyway. I agree with other reviewers that the swiss/sherry combination is very nice. It tastes more sophisticated than your typical cream of mushroom recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. Cooking time was perfect. The chicken was moist and tender. Hubby and I both really liked this. Prep was nice and easy too. Next time, I may try bread crumbs in place of croutons.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: laughngrin
We really enjoyed this - my 18 month old kept wanting more. I adjusted this for 2 and it was great-tasting, but it didn't present well after baking. This could be because I had only 2 breasts in a baking dish. When I make it again, I will wait to put the swiss/bread crumbs on in the last few minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: MamaSarah
Fabulous chicken dish! This was super easy to prep and the cook time was perfect. The only thing I would change next time are the croutons. I will probably try fresh bread crumbs or crush the croutons rather than full. Overall though great dish!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Buckinfun
5 stars as it gave way to a new family dish! My hubby loved it! I had to increase things (dill/sourcream/sherry and added garlic) as my family loves big flavors. Still mild but it's a start for us! BIG THUMBS UP! Heavily sprinkle SEASONED PEPPER on breasts---salt----2 slices per breast----MIX TOGETHER: 1 can of the mushroom soup--one soup can of sherry--1 Cup sour cream--2 chopped garlic cloves and POUR OVER CHICKEN.***Crush 1 1/2 cups of Texas Toast croutons to smaller bits (but not fine) and add 1/2 Cup Panko Italian crumbs.****Add 1 teaspoon dry dill (I didn't have fresh) to the 1/2 cup melted butter then toss in crumbs. BAKE CHICKEN FOR 20 MINUTES-THEN ADD CRUMBS ON TOP. BAKE ANOTHER 20. The flavor reminded me of San Remo Dip Olive Garden used to have. I would even venture to add CHOPPED PIMENTO!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: BOSTONMILLS
Good receipe! I changed the cooking time to 375 degrees for 45 minutes. Turned out perfect. I also used fresh bread crumbs instead of croutons. My husband really liked this dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Fredi
Made it as written. Didn't pound the chicken and had to add about 10 minutes to the cooking time. The whole family enjoyed this one, moist chicken is a rarity in my kitchen. Serve over egg noodles, there was plenty of buttery sauce to go around.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: LIZZIANNE
I'm always looking for recipes that keep chicken breasts moist, and this one caught my eye. I made it last night (cutting back to 4 TBS of butter) and it was fantastic. I served it on a bed of rice. My picky 19 year old daughter absolutely raved over it. This recipe is definitely a keeper
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Janet Johnson
Tweaked it just a little - pounded the breasts, seasoned them with s&p and paprika, and browned in a little butter with garlic before placing in the baking dish. I left off the crouton topping but did spinkle a little dill on top. Delicious! The flavors of the swiss cheese together with the sauce were amazing. Definitely a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches