My reviews (38)

Wholemeal Carrot Cake Muffins

These muffins are made with wholemeal flour and are ultra-healthy. If you want juicy raisins in your muffins, soak the raisins in hot water for 30 minutes, drain and continue with the recipe.
Reviews (38)


27 Sep 2015
Reviewed by: Bakeman
A good recipe but I might try an extra tablespoon of honey next time as I thought the mixture a little dry.
 
31 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: VanessaO
This is a great recipe! The first time I tried it with a half teaspoon of salt, you could actually taste the salt which was a little unpleasant - in the second batch I just added a pinch - and they were perfect ;0). The measures made 12 good size muffins.
 
24 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: jessfinn
Very good. Just as a tip. If you mix all ingredients EXCEPT for baking soda and let sit for an hour or so, then add soda. And bake. Whole Wheat flour is much fluffier. I also used pineapple juice as extra flavor. And used banana in place of yogurt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Peggie
Both my husband and I liked these muffins. I followed the recipe exactly, but instead of making 14, I made twelve to fit my muffin pans. So, additional time was needed. Thanks for such an easy recipe. I will use this recipe again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: coolestchicevr
I will absolutely make these again! I was out of honey so I replaced it with 1/4 c. brown sugar. It was very dry so I added water a Tbl. at a time until it was doughy enough. I also grated the carrot. Wonderful recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: tantuc
The dough is too stiff, so I added a half cup of apple sauce. I omitted raisins and added an extra half cup or carrots. I also followed the advice to let sit the dough for an hour and then add soda and bake. I spread the dough between 12 muffin tins and baked 5 minutes longer. The result is a mildly sweet substantial muffin with almost a carrot cake like flavor. They taste good the next day too. I will be baking these again with the modifications described above. My husband didn't care for them since they weren't very sweet. My kids and I liked them a lot.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: carmsz
Added 1/3 cup of apple sauce in as well because I thought the batter looked a little dry. I also doubled the pumpkin pie spice and vanilla. They turned out wonderfully. Cooked for 17 min.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: LouisvilleHugger
The second time around I increased the amount of pumpkin pie spice to give the muffins more character. The flavors were too subtle {for me}. Thanks for the recipe Abby, they are definitely guilt-free and great to share outside of the home.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: lydia11
I substituted canned pumpkin for the yogurt. YUM.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Sunflower
the only change I made was brown sugar in place of the honey as I didn't have any. I added an egg and a couple of tbsp of apple sauce to replace the moisture and they were great! I will definitely make these again...maybe with some walnuts or pecans, yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches