My reviews (606)

Perfect scones

These scones are perfect for afternoon tea. They are light and fluffy. The trick is not to overwork the dough. Overworking the dough will result in a tough and rubbery scone. Serve with butter, clotted cream and jam.
Reviews (606)


22 Jan 2018
Reviewed by: GailBarry
Simple to make. I used mixed fruit , delicious
 
22 Nov 2017
Reviewed by: Skillen
Perfect scones, I always use self raising flour for my scones, did same for this recipe, I never use risers like baking powder, not necessary with self raising flour, I only use milk not buttermilk, always perfect every time I use this recipe.
 
20 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: verat
I would consider myself an experienced baker and decided to experiment with a few different recipies for light scones. I found these scones too light, more like a sponge and the dough too sticky to handle despite having put in more flour.They ended up quite flate also.
 
25 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: lesleysames
I used raisins instead of currant...lovely
 
03 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Care
Hands down the best scones I have ever made. Better than my culinary school recipes. I reduced the b.p. by 1 tsp. The trick to scones is not to over mix the dough. After you "rub" the butter into the dry ingredients , place the bowl in the freezer for a few minutes to re-solidify the butter. Add the wet to the dry and mix just until combined. Thanks for sharing
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: egj
I made serveral batches of these for a holiday tea. I found that freezing the butter and grating it into the flour mixture was easier than using a pastry blender with soft butter and the result was just as delicious. This is a terrific recipe for scones!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Dsyd
It's all in the texture and what you add to the final dough- maybe some mixed berries and white chocolate chunks! And after eggwashing the tops prior to baking try sprinkling a generous amount of coarse sugar. Or if you want to go savory, try some herbs and small cubes of a nice cheese- say chopped chives, bit of basil and oregano and chunks of gouda or edam. Instead of the sugar topping obviously something like some shredded cheese or sesame seeds would be more appropriate.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: DANDK1997
These scones really ARE the best scones I've ever had, and I used to be a professional pastry chef. I made a few minor changes to adjust them to what I was looking for- I added vanilla, substituted white and semi-sweet chocolate chips for the currants, and left off the egg wash. And I just pulled the dough apart into 8 pieces (the way I used to at the bakery) and baked them that way, without shaping them. After they came out of the oven, I drizzled them with a vanilla/confectioner's sugar icing. Thy were very sweet this way, but just what I was looking for. The sour cream gave them a great flavor and texture,
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: P.Pedd.
Truly delicious scones! Only my 2nd attempt to make them (first attempt was 20 years ago and not very successful). These turned out great but were not exactly like the submitted recipe. I had recently eaten an orange cranberry scone at a Fresh Market and loved it and was trying to duplicate the flavor. These are even better! My changes included subbing orange Craisins and adding 1 1/2 tsp. orange zest, lite sour cream, fat-free evaporated milk (for richness), and omitting the egg wash. They were so soft that I dropped them - 12 - onto a parchment lined baking sheet and sprinkled them with natural sugar crystals. Fabulous! They were full of flavor, not heavy, and crunchy on the outside. My husband tasted them and has requested one with his lunch today (his first scone). Next tiime, I will make 24 smaller scones and share them with friends. This is not scone country so they will be a novelty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: bakingupstorm
Wow! I just tried this recipe based on the rave reviews and it is by far the best scone recipe I have EVER had! (and I'm not just saying that because I baked them. ).... Restaurant or home, these are the best I've tasted. And TRUST me. I've had many. At tea shops and at home. I've tried TONS of recipes and this IS the best. This recipe is amazing! It is foolproof unless? perhaps you are a really inexperienced baker? These were AWESOME!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches