My reviews (60)

Arroz con pollo

This recipe is an all-in-one wonder, a simple dish of chicken and rice with fabulous Cuban flavours! This recipe is quick and easy and can be served with a salad, fried plantains or even a banana - a Cuban favourite with any meal!
Reviews (60)


25 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: CARLITOS
I found this recipe to be very good. I liked the idea that this is a very easy way to make arroz con pollo. I am a cuban man living in japan and I wanted to eat arroz con pollo so I descided to try to make it myslef. It was very good. I also had trouble with the rice not being cooked fully. So I just added more beer over 15 min period of time. It came out good. I like that this was easy to make to....And you dont have to do a million other things on the side.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Stacie Stearns
This was really good. Although, I did learn that the can of beer really should be something mild like Bud Light. I added Molston XXX that I already had on hand and it left too strong a flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 May 2004
Reviewed by: INTHESLITHYTOVES
like everyone else said it's horribly written, but it turned out fan-frickin-tastic with a few modifications. i added 1.5 c chicken broth, some other veggies, and i covered it so the rice would cook right.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: ANGIABC
I didn't like this recipe much. It was waaay too sweet for my taste. I think the sweet juice from the peas may have been too much in combo with the tomato sauce. I did not have saffron, so I am not sure how much this would affect the overall flavor. I gave it 3 stars because I thought it would be a good dish for someone who likes this sort of dish sweet.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: KAMAY1969
This recipe was wonderfully tasty. I made it for a group of friends and it was a hi! I will definitely make it again...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: Bryan
Very easy and tasty recipe. You can use lots of substitutes in this too, especially a tasty pasta sauce for the tomato sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Dave Lee
We thought this was a great recipe; however, I did make some changes, but I'm sure the original was just as good. We don't cook with alcohol, so I substituted chicken broth instead. I also added a whole red pepper and a poblano pepper and finished it with some cilantro and lime.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Dell
Oh my goodness!! This was a wonderful meal. I wouldn't change a thing. I used "fresh" saffron and it made the dish have such a wonderful taste - well worth it!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: LESLIE
Great recipe! My supermarket was out of Saffron, so I used the Vigo Spanish saffron rice instead of white rice. I followed the package directions for liquid and used about 3 cups of chicken broth. I also omitted the beer. I have no doubt that the leftovers will not last long!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Darryl
There's something wrong with the way this recipe is written. I would suggest making the rice on the side then adding it to the chicken/veg mixture. Or add more liquid, cover and steam the rice until done.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches