My reviews (9)

Chicken sotanghon soup

This Filipino chicken noodle soup recipe is exotic and full of flavour, yet easy to make. Use cellophane noodles (bean thread noodles) or bihon (thin rice noodles) in this dish. Both are equally delicious.
Reviews (9)


29 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: vixenvillain
Great recipe. A bit time consuming because of making the shredded chicken but so delicious I've made it a few times now (and I'm very picky about recipes when they take over 45 minutes to make). Achiote powder was hard to find. You might look for it under Annatto seed instead if you can't find it (it's a bright red powder). This flavor is what really makes this dish, in my opinion.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: PC Guy
I used oyster ear mushrooms and turmeric (it was all I had) and added shredded cabbage to the boil (for the fiber ). I dipped a warm hard roll in it, added a light salad and some iced tea. More than a meal. I thought it was an excellent recipe and far better even than I expected.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: poemmommy1
This had a wonderful flavor. I couldnt find achiote powder so i used achiote paste and it didnt desolve well, but it was still very tasty. I think next time ill add a bit more broth because i like it a little more soupy. Im half filipino so this was a comforting and nostalgic dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: Aura
Despite the extra preparations needed, it was well worth the trouble for a really good Pinoy comfort food. I didn't have the achiote powder, but it was not missed. Thank you for another wonderful recipe, Lola!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Dec 2014
Reviewed by: Jessica De Jesus
Ginger is a must add! My grandma does it that way too and it adds a whole other level of flavor. This is my comfort food go to.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: Derek C
Incredible . The best ever. I have a chineese exchange student, and she raved about it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: JessicaRabbit0722
This was comfort food to me...similar to my Mom's. The older I get the more I want to learn Filipino recipes for my daughter to eat since she is mestiza. A little time consuming but worth it... I couldn't find the achiote powder but I found the seed so I crushed it to powder (be careful it may stain). I will have to try it with cabbage and carrots next time. I like my veggies. Also, my mom adds ginger to her recipe. Super tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 May 2016
Reviewed by: Aleli Camama-Dorsi
Most of the work of course is boiling the chickenand shredding. Otherwise it's really good and easy. Next time, I"ll turn off the pot a little earlier as the noodles became soft later. Definitely add ginger to make it like Moms.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Nov 2015
Reviewed by: Mandy
We made this tonight and it was wonderful. I highly recommend it and will make it again. I also used a mixture of turmeric and paprika which I found on the internet as a substitute for achiote powder.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches