My reviews (18)

Bahamian sweetcorn and rice

Sweetcorn and rice is a traditional Bahamian side dish that can be served with your favourite Caribbean-inspired meal. The sweetcorn can be substituted with black eye beans or butter beans for an equally delicious dish.
Reviews (18)


29 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Kristal
Browning is a liquid that comes in a small bottle. The most common brand that I am aware of is "Kitchen Bouquet". It is used to give a little extra flavour and a nice brown color to the rice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Yvette
I made this for dinner tonight. It was delish!!! I made a few changes. I used one 15 ounce of corn which was plenty. I also added a few stalks of skellion while the liquid was simmering, just a few minutes before adding the rice. Lastly, I used Jasmine rice which is so much more flavorful. A true winner!!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Korie Roberts Bartnik
Looks good, but what is browning sauce?
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: pomplemousse
I didn't have browning sauce, so I just used a concentrated beef flavoring--a bullion type thing, and it worked well enough. I also didn't use tomato sauce but tossed in a can of drained chopped tomatoes instead. I'm not a huge fan of rice, so keep that in mind, but this wasn't too bad. The flavors worked well and it goes well with chopped chicken to make it a full meal. This does make a lot of rice, though--so make sure you like rice or have enough people to consume it if you make the full batch. There is way more than 5 servings in this recipe! All in all, not bad, and hubby seems to like it. Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: Lorraine
It was a lot better than I expected. Wondering what a few stalks of skellion are as posted bby Yvette
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: ramos07
definetely nummy and easy!!! -La Vonne R
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 May 2009
Reviewed by: Mama V
Great recipe, and it makes a huge serving. It reminds me somewhat of Mexican red rice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: Debra mason
Loved the rice, added 2 more slices of bacon and left onion out. Used jasmine rice and chicken stock. Modified slightly- 1 cup rice, 2 cups chicken stock and 1 can f stock. a big hit, Very yummy!.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Mar 2015
Reviewed by: Mandy J
I thought this recipe was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly. Next time I might add more spices to bring out more flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Dec 2014
Reviewed by: Don
I loved it! The rest of my family thought it had too much spice in it (pepper and thyme), but they like bland food.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches