My reviews (154)

Cuban Beef Casserole

Traditionally, this beef stew uses a lot more olive oil and beef with a lot of marbling. This is my slightly lower-fat version, but is still close to the original recipe. This is a fantastic alternative to your typical beef stew!
Reviews (154)


11 Dec 2002
I am not a big beef lover but this broth has such a rich depth of flavor that I loved this. I did not add the capers or red pepper because I didn't have it on hand-and it still was very good. The only thing I think it needed was veggies. I added carrot chunks this time. My husband ate over white rice. I had over red beans and rice (leftovers). Added 2-27-03:I've made this a few times now,and have noticed each time, when you add the potatoes,it loses quite a bit of flavor. I now add extra spices WHEN I make with the potatoes. When I serve over rice, beans etc., I simply omit the potatoes.Also, we did not like the flavor of the capers, when used.To our taste, the capers really changed the flavor (to "sour" instead of nice and "tangy")., Will make again WITHOUT the capers."
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 May 2000
Reviewed by: PDURHAN
i grew up eating cuban food, and this is pretty authentic. delicious! serve with black beans & yellow rice, and fried (ripe) plantains.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: TEAMCRIS
I love all kinds of stews and this was a great departure from common European stews. My husband raved and my son ate it without complaints, even with the olives. I departed from the recipe by slow cooking in a crock pot (love my crock pot!) - after browning meat, adding spices and simmering for 3 minutes. Ate it in a sourdough bread bowl - yummy. Next time must try more authentic Cuban meal with fried plantains.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: RGSMITH
This was without a doubt the best stew ever! I made this for our weekly"extended family", 12 people, dinner . That required doubling the recipe. I used my crock-pot and cooked the beef and other ingred. (except the potatoes) for 8 hours on low. I cooked the potatoes separately and added them to the stew for the last 1/2 hour. I served this with crusty bread, steaned whole green beans and a salad. This is a winner.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Saveur
Oh, my, my, my, my, my! Or should I say, que bueno! My hubby LOVED this dish, giving it an off the charts "10"! Tweaks: I made exactly as directed except used beef broth instead of water, did not add potatoes, served with mashed (thanks previous reviewer), and added a tablespoon of cornstarch with beef broth at the end for a lovely gravy. AH, the sweet, the savory, very well done, indeed. Will be a winter classic in this home!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: COOKINGQUEEN75
I left out the potatoes and served this over rice. I put all the liquids in a measuring cup and added just enough water to make 2 cups. I threw the meat and liquid in my pressure cooker and cooked it for 50 minutes. Very tender and excellent!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: SAIDANDDUNN
Loved this! Another hit at my Soup and Stew party. Interesting blending of flavors that only got better the longer it simmered away in the crock pot. Next time I will make it spicy by adding some crushed red pepper or a fresh jalapeno or two. Great Stew!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: SnagleB
I was looking for something a little different and this was a great choice. It's very flavorful and satisfying. My alterations were to double the meat, onions and tomato sauce, and add a 7 oz can of diced green chiles. I also browned the meat first and then sauteed the onions on top of all the browned bits from the meat and deglazed with the sherry. This all helped to make a thick, dark gravy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: KUPAUA
Made for our gourmet cooking club of 8 people on 4/3/04. The stew was a hit as part of our Cuban inspired menu. Rave comments about the great blend of flavors with the unusual combination of ingredients. I did lightly dust the beef with flour before cooking and I rinsed the capers with water before adding them. Otherwise, doubled the recipe and followed it exactly. Served with an avocado soup, salad, crusty bread and white rice. Poured a red Italian wine from Umbria that held up well to the green olives. Slightly fruity rather than tangy. Dessert was a banana and pecan "Brown Betty" type topping served over a rum cake. The stew recipe is a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: LITTLETURTLE30
We all liked this. I served it over rice and it was really good, although it could have easily stood alone because of the potatoes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches