Stuff red or green peppers with a mixture of brown rice, nuts, dried cranberries, tofu and Parmesan. Then bake for 30 minutes.
Parmesan cheese is not truly vegetarian, as it contains animal rennet. To make this dish 100% vegetarian, omit the cheese or find a suitable vegetarian substitute made without animal rennet. In supermarkets look for the 'parmesan style hard cheeses' which are suitable for vegetarians.
Used different ingredients. We were in the mood for Stuffed Peppers and this recipe looked good. We didn't have any dried cranberries or pecans on hand, so I substituted them with sultanas and walnuts, which tasted great. Lots of interesting textures/flavours! My husband raved at how nice the filling was and that it seemed "meaty." I will likely be making this recipe again. Thanks! - 15 Sep 2008
Just to let people know that parmesan isn't vegetarian - 27 May 2011
Parmesan isn't vegetarian. There are vegetation substitutes, but this recipe doesn't state that! - 18 Dec 2012