My reviews (93)

Fillet steak with peppercorn sauce

Fillet steak with peppercorn sauce. There's nothing like a classic when you want to serve something elegant to your guests. It's actually a very simple recipe that will become a tried-and-true favourite.
Reviews (93)


09 Sep 2015
Reviewed by: bighorse
Really tasty sauce and easy to make.
 
07 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: bonyng
This is a very good variation of Steak Au Poivre. The cream sauce is very nice. The only thing I did differently was to cook the filets less. It is a standard misconception that 130 is medium rare. Not true. 120 will come up to medium rare,(125), once it sits for 5-7 minutes. Do NOT cut into the meat or poke it with a thermometer to check for doneness as all the juices will leak out. Figure 2-1/2 minutes per side on medium high for med rare. Please do not overcook filet. There is no fat on this cut and no margin for error!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: hark
Great recipe! I substituted milk for the heavy cream because that is what I had on hand. I added a little flour to help the sauce thicken. The filets came out perfect. I cooked them 4 min. each side.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: K U R T
I love beef with a creamy pepper sauce and this did not disapoint. I kicked the recipe up to my tastes as follows: Try with a NY Strip intead of the Filet. I coated the beef the with lots of coarsly cracked pepper and rubbed it in well. After I browned it in a scorching hot pan, i deglazed the pan with about 1/4 cup of brandy I turned the heat to med and added about a tablespoon of finely chopped shallots, then followed that with a little beef stock and let that cook to reduce a little. After that I added the heavy cream slowly until I had enough suace. I let that stay on the heat until it thickened a bit then poured it over the beef. It is a delicious sauce. Other cuts of beef work as well if not better than filet. Try this recipe with a ny strip before you take the plunge to filet.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: k.rososko
AWESOME!!! I tweaked it a bit -instead of peppercorn I used a "Spicy Garlic" seasoning in a "grinder". It worked out so well...and the cream sauce was delicious!! I've been trying to find a recipe for this cream sauce that I had at Sajo's, it came with my "steak bites" I had ordered...This sauce tastes just like it!! This recipe goes to the top of my list!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: grgutierrez
This was very good. My fiance and I had this for our anniversary and it did not disappoint. I prepared it exactly as written, except for letting the sauce simmer longer than the 6-8 recommended minutes. It took longer than that to reduce down, about 10 - 15 minutes on medium heat in a large skillet. Word to the wise - Don't leave the sauce on the heat- even on low. I thought to keep it warm in case he wanted more sauce, and the cream came apart and ruined the sauce. I'll definitely be making this again. It tastes amazingly close to a meal I had at a very fancy French restaurant. Now I'll be able to make it at home! Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: CDN Dancer
Very delicious, yet simple to make! I ended up using New York strip steaks. Also mixed some garlic powder with the salt and ground peppercorns before rubbing it on the steak. I served it with Rosemary Roasted Potatoes (another recipe on this site) I did find it steamed/smoked a lot, and wound up setting off my smoke detector. Next time might reduce the heat slightly (and maybe just open the window while cooking)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Janie56
I've been doing a similar recipe like this for years, but I flame the meat with cognac before adding the cream. Light cream is fine, but I advise against using milk or 1/2 & 1/2. The milk will always curdle. To flame anything, remove the pan from the heat, pour on a jigger of cognac, avert your face and ignite the cognac. Don't be alarmed if it flames up a lot. Alcohol burns at a lower temperature than most things, but if you're not careful, you could set your kitchen cabinets on fire. Set the meat aside to keep warm while you deglaze the pan with a small glass of red wine and stock. Let it cook down to half its volume, then add the cream and stir in a pat of butter for each filet. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Meredith Mandel
This was a very delicious recipe. I used a shoulder steak, not a filet, but it gave class to a cheaper cut. I rubbed a tiny bit of garlic onto the steaks and also used half and half because that's what I had. It also took a little while for the sauce to thicken so I added a bit of cornstarch. All in all very good and will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: ellyn
wonderful, but a minor quibble -- it should be "filets migon" -- the filet being plural, not the mignon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches