My reviews (47)

Gâteau au chocolat

This is a French chocolate cake recipe for a typical homemade chocolate cake in France - dense, dark and delicious. Excellent served with whipped cream, ice cream or, of course, on its own.
Reviews (47)


16 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: LEAPYEARBABEE
I had to do a report on France for my Global Studies class and I decided to make this for everyone in the class. Everyone loved it! Also, I took it to my French teacher whom lived in France for 30 years and she said that indeed, it was French, and she wanted the recipe, as well as 4 other teachers!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: your mom
I think this cake is great! Working as a pastry baker, I have made cakes like this before. The cake usually sinks in a little at the top after cooling. I like to fill the indention with whipped cream, freeze it overnight and then glaze with a melted ganache icing. Sooo elegant but still pretty easy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: GINAH1
I followed the directions but this did not turn out at all-I ended up throwing it out. Sorry!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Alle G.
I have to admit, I was a little skeptical, especially after it came out of the oven and it looked so dry on the outside. I was afraid that it was just going to be a dry, crispy mess. Boy was I wrong!!!! This was absolutely delicious!!! It had the richness of a chocolate cake without the sickly sweetness that you get from traditional cakes. I served it with raspberry sauce and homemade whipped cream and everyone thought it was great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: Valerie Brunmeier
I was concerned about the cake having only 1/4c flour so I doubled it and it turned out to be about the consistency of a brownie. Everyone loved the flavor and it was very pretty with the powdered sugar sprinkled over the top. I will make again. It would be very good with a raspberry sauce or drizzled with a chocolate syrup. Update: I've made this cake several times without adding more flour and it is wonderful as written! I do sometimes substitute bittersweet for some of the semi-sweet to give it a richer chocolate taste. Fantastic!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Lauren N.
It's my go-to recipe for a rich, dense and impressive cake for get-togethers. People always ask for the recipe! If you don't have cream of tartar on hand, a pinch of salt will do just fine. I serve the cake with a dusting of powdered sugar and strawberry or raspberry sauce on the side.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: slsonline
I LOVE this torte. It is very rich and flavourful. I always serve this for desert when I have dinner parties - everyone asks for the recipe. I use the recipe for Raspberry Sauce, and top the torte with that, along with fresh whipped cream (no fake stuff for this desert!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Chelsey Wolnowski
I made this for our Valentine's Dessert tonight. Oh. My. God. AMAZING! I thought it sounded like a lot of work when I first read the instructions, but it was actually really quick and easy! I cooked mine in a flan pan instead of the spring-form, so it cooked in about 45 mins. I covered it with a half batch of chocolate ganache (1/2 cup good quality semi sweet chocolate chips melted with 1/2 cup whipping cream and a splash of real vanilla) I'm for sure adding this to my list of favorite recipes!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: k_in_NL
Lovely cake - rich on chocolate (used chocolate with 56% cacao content), but not too sweet. The texture was slightly brownie-like...not sure why because I was careful with the amount of flour after reading the reviews. Served it with rasberrry sauce and whipped cream for my BF's bday. He loved it! Bonus part... the cake kept well for over a week (it's just the 2 of us). Will definitely make again. The Hague, Netherlands
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: BONNEFILLE
this cake was delicious; all my friends loved it; it was a nice change from the traditional American-style chocolate sponge cake; it turned out pretty well even though I didn't have a spring tin pan or enough chocolate(2oz. short)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches