My reviews (22)

Easy pastry cream

This is a no-cook, easy recipe for pastry cream that you can use in profiteroles, eclairs, trifles or even to layer your favourite sponge. It's refreshingly light, but still decadent.
Reviews (22)


19 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Katelyn Elizabeth
Sorry Kit, but this recipe just didn't do it for me. I followed the directions exactly, and I was a little disappointed. The filling was light, I'll give you that, but it was also quite runny. HOWEVER... I did not give up on this recipe. Instead, I played with it a bit and prefected it. for a 5-star filling, omit the milk, and use only whipping cream. This way it still stays light, but is thick enough to work with. The modified version is amazing in cream puffs! Thanks Kit for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Danielle
I took the advice of the person who suggested replacing the milk with more cream, and this was AWESOME. It was so perfect. I folded in some raspberries that I tossed in sugar, and used this as a filling for a layer cake. I will definitely use this recipe again. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Oct 2000
Reviewed by: jspellman29
So light and creamy! I used it in my eclairs and it was wonderful. Preserved very well in the refridgerator. Not too sweet or sticky. Great for pastries. I highly recommend!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Kristin
Yummy, but I'm not clear on the point of the egg white and milk. If I wanted to end up with something that tasted exactly like whipped cream, I would have just whipped the heavy cream and had done with it with less trouble than this recipe. Final product was was very very soft, light in texture and delicate. It didn't stand up very well to the 3-hour delay between filling eclairs and serving them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Rainbow
maked plenty..very watery and sweet. leaked out of my cream puffs..next time i would omit milk, add less sugar, and add only a little bit of egg white. thank you for the recipe tho.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: Pieter B.
I left out the milk and reduced sugar - great filling though as tastes GREAT, pipes well and stays firm for a long time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Marcia W
Made as per the directions. Whipped cream is much better. Why bother with this?
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: jody1
Very good. Try piping them into beignets.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: ERICA FIX
this filling was just great. will use this again for all my pastries
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Caitlin
Very Light and delicious. We put it inside Cream Puffs from this site. Very Good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches