My reviews (18)

Fresh strawberry ice cream in a bag

Homemade ice cream without the ice cream maker. You'll have loads of fun making this ice cream with the kids. Simply help them fill the plastic bag with cream and strawberries, then let them shake it till they've got smooth creamy ice cream!
Reviews (18)


16 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: andreab
It only really makes enough for one big portion but we all managed to taste it. Will do it again when the weather warms up!!
 
16 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: ritaturner
Loved it! A perfect thing to do with family on a hot summer day!
 
16 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: vickie
Left out the sugar and used blackberries. Nice!
 
16 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: sweettooth
I was a bit skeptical but didn't want to disappoint my neice when I had already mentioned trying to make it! It really does work! Used raspberries - just a personal preference but will try it with a chopped up Crunchie.
 
16 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: nadia
I just started growing strawberries this year and the amounts are rather modest so this is a perfect recipe because you only need 4 (!) tablespoons. Quick, easy and delicious for those spontaneous ice-cream cravings
 
16 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: nanda
Delicious, easy and so much fun to make!!
 
11 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: tessa
Step one should mention that you put the salt in with the ice... it took me a few minutes to figure it out (I'm trying to learn to cook, so not obvious to me) also had to google kosher salt versus iodized... iodized worked just fine. This was super yummy.... my husband thought I was a little goofy when he saw me shaking plastic bags around, but loved it once I was done
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: metalgraceland
Another great way to get the kids involved is to use two metal coffee cans one small with the ice cream bag in it and one large with the salt and ice. Place the small can in the large can (make sure the lids on tight) and roll them on the floor back and forth. Not only is it easy for little ones to help; its not so cold on the hands.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 May 2009
Reviewed by: JDP4445
My kids used a recipe very similar to this in Pre-School. It was a great project for them, everyone had tons of fun. Surprisingly it works! Their arms got a little tired from all the shaking, but moms were on hand to help. You have to eat it fast, it melts quickly. Maybe if you put it in the freezer after, but then who wants to wait!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Nicole S.
I promised my 4 year old a vanilla ice cream cone, but the local ice cream stand was closed! So in less than 15 minutes I whipped this up and I had one thrilled 4 year old. I only had whole milk on hand so I used that, was low on vanilla extract, so I added a tablespoon of instant vanilla pudding mix, and I left out the strawberries. I'm sure the texture was changed a bit by using whole milk instead of half and half, but it was still delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches