My reviews (241)

Apricot-Glazed Corned Beef

In this different take on corned beef, an apricot glaze really complements the beef's flavour. Serve with carrots and roasties or rice for a delicious and family friendly dish.
Reviews (241)


16 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: ZOEMC
Last year on St. Pats I made boiled corned beef and this version. The flavor of this recipe was superior to the traditional boiled corned beef, but the baked corned beef was FAR too tough. In prep for this year's St. Pats feast, I tried boiling the corned beef according to the package directions, then draining it, patting it dry, adding the glaze, and baking it for approx 30 minutes (I turned the broiler on for the last couple of minutes to carmelize the top -- watch it carefully though!!) My family agreed it was the best corned beef they had ever tasted. This will be our St. Pats corned beef recipe from now on.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: The Fragile Gourmet
You've GOT TO TRY THIS for St. Pat's Day! Great recipe if you boil the corned beef first. I simmered it with the spice packet for 3.5 hours and threw some carrots in the water for the last 20 minutes. Took it out, cut off the fat, and placed it in a 9x13 glass dish along with the carrots. Spread the glaze all over and baked for 30 minutes at 350. I made Diane's Colcannon from this site as a side dish. This is better than any restaurant meal you could possibly have!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Victoria Leigh
Wow this glaze was amazing. I had actually baked the corned beef for 5 hours in 2 bottles of Guiness Beer and then filled the pan the rest of the way with water to cover the meat and added the seasoning packet. Then I took the corned beef out of the liquid and just left a small amount in the bottom of the pan and added a layer of glaze every 15 minutes for an hour. I broiled it on high for the last 10 minutes and it ended up coming out so great that even my kids (who would have never eaten corned beef before), loved it. I will never make corned beef any other way from now on!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Jackie
This was fabulously delicious. I put the corned beefs (I cooked 3 of them!) in roasting pans and filled the pans to within an inch of the top with water and added the spice packs that came with the corned beefs. Then I covered them with foil and put them in the oven at only 250 degrees for 5 hours. Uncovered them, drained most of the water as well as removed the fat, added the glaze, put my carrots in with the corned beefs, and baked them at 350 for another hour, basting both the carrots and beefs occassionally. YUMMY, and the carrots were delish, too! 3/18/07 update: Cut all leftovers into bite-sized chunks, melted butter in large skillet, put in the leftovers (corned beef, carrots, cabbage, potatoes and turnip). Cooked on medium high, stirring, for a few minutes. Turned stove to low, covered the skillet, and heated for about 20 minutes - this was SUPER "corned beef hash".
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: Diane
GREAT!!!! My spouse is Irish and has had alot of cornbeef and this was the best by far. I did cook the cornbeef in a slow cooker for 8 hours and turned out very tender and moist. I think leaving this step out may produce a tough dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: MIHAELA
Super easy and delicious. I won't fix corned beef any other way from now on.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: SIMPLE MOM
Very yummy recipe. I have been wanting to perfect a delicious St. Patty's Day menu. I have to say this is probably as close as I'll get. I rinsed my beef well and put it in the crock on low with a cup of water and the pickling seasongs for about 8 hours. Then when I got home from work, I made the glaze and transfered the beef and juice to a baking pan, spread the glaze on top and baked uncovered for 30 mins. I served it with boiled carrots and cabbage, and mashed potatoes. Very good. Everyone loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Don Matthew Page
I have not boiled corned beef now for over 2 years. The corned beef is SOOOOO flavorful. It is very important to wash the brine off the corned beef first (this keeps it from being to salty). Cover 1/2 way with water and cover. Seasonings are optional. Cooking times may very, but the slower the better. 200-250 degrees. I check after 2 hours and go from there. It is done when the strands start to seperate. This next step is VERY IMPORTANT! When the corned beef is done, take the juice and dump into a pot. Add potatos, cabbage and enough water to cover and boil till tender. Add carrots and 1/4 inch of water to pan and glaze both the corned beef and carrots. DON"T BROIL (it will burn). Bake on 450 for 20-30 minutes. It will still burn if your not careful, the goal here is to glaze! just be vigilant. Once the corned beef is glazed remove from pan and set on plate and cover with foil and let sit for 10-15 minutes. If the carrots are not done leave in pan till tender. Follow these instruction and I guarentee the absolute best corned beef you will EVER have!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: BEULAH MAE
This is a delicious recipe! I rinsed the corned beef, but it was still a little salty. The sauce is great!(though it burned before beef was done). Nexttime I will cook the beef in water in a slow cooker then put in oven with sauce over for a 1/2 hour, so it isn't as salty & a little more tender.(and no burned sauce). Definately a re-do (with adjustments) Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: secretsmile
I've never eaten corned beef before and this rocks! I can't imagine eating it just plain and bolied. I used 3 1/2lb CB rinsed and trimmed off fat, simmered for 2 1/2 hours w/ 3/4 pack of the seasoning that came w/ it, drain and pat dry. Then glazed the CB and baked it w/ 2 vidalia onions, mini carots and new red potatoes (par boil the car/pot. about 10 min. in the stock from earlier to ensure cooking thr.)then bake for 25 minutes as directed then broiled for about 12 minutes - mixing veggies as needed thr. cook time. I served w/ the veggies, boiled nappa cabbage and rye breaed. I would cut down to 3 tbs of sugar next time but this is an awesome easy fool proof recipe that I will happily take to any Patty's Day or football party!!!! The boys loved it CHEERS!!!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches