My reviews (49)

Creamy jerk chicken pasta

This is a Jamaican-inspired dish combining the flavours of barbecued jerk chicken with a lovely jerk-flavoured cream sauce, all tossed with pasta. If desired, you can cook the chicken breasts under the grill or in a ridged griddle pan.
Reviews (49)


26 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: QZH30D
Good recipe, my ten year old loves chicken pasta dishes and I like to try to mix it up. The only problem I had was that this was a little runny. I added some rue to thicken the sauce. I have used both a grilled chicken and a sautéd chicken with flour and olive oil plus jerk seasoning and both are very good. The sauté chicken is a little less spicy and can give a good alternative to mix things up.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 May 2008
Great recipe! I've been to Jamaica twice and always enjoy their jerk chicken. This was an interesting way to eat it. I used Linguini in lieu of egg noodles. I thought the sauce was a bit watery too, but hey, it was good. Next time I think I'll add some veggies to it. This one is a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: PrincessKristy
This was really good! Would have been perfect with some veggies added in - maybe some bell peppers!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Nina
All I can say is Wow! This was an awesome recipe. I am enjoying the leftovers for lunch today and am a little disappointed that there aren't more leftovers. I did make a few changes to the recipe, per other's suggestions. I added mushrooms, artichoke hearts, and frozen peas and carrots to the sauce. I also added some extra wine and chicken broth since I added so many vegetables. Then I mixed some flour (1 tbsp) with milk to thicken up the sauce, but honestly it didn't really thicken it at all. The sauce was still runny and seeped right through the noodles on my plate and sat at the bottom. I, of course, had no problem spooning up the sauce, but next time I may add a little more flour so that I can really get a nice thick sauce. I will definitely add this recipe to my Hall of Fame and make as often as my husband will let me!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Christine
I made the recipe as written after reading reviews-"too hot" and "too spicy" being subjective I thought I'd start with the original and adjust. I will definitely be adjusting the heat and the spices to lower amounts next time! Despite the heat there will be a next time--this recipe had great flavor and consistency. I did serve the chicken breasts whole with the pasta on the side (as I had one taster who dislikes citrus flavor on meat) and even my picky taster seemed not to realize that the citrus was there (again--pervasive heat? No, the flavors were really nicely balanced.) I will make again. Enjoy and thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 May 2007
Reviewed by: Kasey
Loved it!!!!! I love Jerk, but i asnt too sure about the cilantro at first but it was delicious! I went alittle to crazy with the jerk paste so next time I have to tone it down, but very very good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: JoePoulson
I made this with shrimp and it was outstanding. I didn't grill the shrimp; rather when the mix is brought up to a boil (before adding the cream), I added 2 lbs. of peeled and de-veined shrimp and cooked for roughly 1 minute. I pulled the shrimp out and put into a bowl and covered. I then went ahead with the rest of the recipe as stated, only adding the shimp back to the mixture when it was nice and the pasta had been added. Outstanding.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: krwilliamson
This is really great, but I recommend leaving the jerk paste out of the sauce. It was WAY too hot...and I love spicy. But I couldn't get through it. It could've been the brand jerk paste I bought though...so test out the sauce before hand!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 May 2006
Reviewed by: aries
Pasta was a little bland for my taste (I like it spicy!) but it went well with the chicken. Not bad but I wouldn't make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: STEPHIE71
This was pretty good. I couldn't find jerk paste so I used jerk sauce. It lacked a little flavor - but that may be due to the sauce I used instead of the paste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches