My reviews (301)

Key lime cheesecake

A delicious tangy dessert if you like lime. Key limes are smaller and more bitter than regular limes. However, if you can't find key limes, use the same amount of zest and juice from normal limes. The taste won't be identical but close enough.
Reviews (301)


02 Jul 2017
Reviewed by: LemonySnickers
Tweaked it and used ginger biscuits instead😋
 
02 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: JAMYEARN
This recipe was a hit. I did change it quite a bit as I am a huge cook so I tend to do that. I wanted a bit taller cheesecake so I add 8 oz more cream cheese. Instead of the sugar, eggs and flour, I used a can of sweetened condensed milk. I cut the lime juice to 1/2 cup as the other reviews said it was a bit tart. I also put a thin layer of whip cream made with heavy whipping cream and sugar just to add a little something. I decorated it with slices of lime. I made it for a Christmas party so everyone was glad to not have the traditional stuff they were having at every other party.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 May 2006
Reviewed by: ALLICAT2U
EXCELLENT... with these revisions! Make crust as described. Use 32 oz cream cheese (4 bricks) 1 1/4 C. sugar, 1 T. cornstarch, 4 eggs, 1 T. lime zest. Here's the key - 1/3 C. lime juice, 1/3 C. lemon juice. Absolutely delicious. Top with a pint of heavy cream whipped with a couple of tablespoons of sugar. Garnish with lime zest and lime slices. It's even better after it's been in the fridge for a day! YUMMY!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: SHEILA
GREAT RECIPE !!! BUT, I MUST ASK, WHY do people change about 5 or 6 things in a recipe & then say "This is a 5 STAR recipe" ???? I say, either make the recipe as written or don't rate it !!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: KELLYSKI
I made this cheescake for my brothers birthday party and everyone FLIPPED for it! I added a few tablespoons of shredded coconut to the crust and it went over big! I took the suggestions to bake the cake a little longer and that worked well. After the cake was done baking I left the oven door open a bit, to make sure it was completely cooled before taking it out and I didn't have any cracking. I will be making this one again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: KIMAR
If you like Key Lime Pie, you'll enjoy this, but you must love limes - this is VERY "limey"!! I used bottled real key lime juice. Mine cracked even though I followed the directions and placed a shallow pan of hot water on the lower rack. Very rich. I served mine plain (without whipped cream), and myself and a few others noted that it really needs whipped cream on top to help "soften" the strong lime flavor. This is a keeper, esp. for summertime entertaining.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: OUTOFIT
Delicious and easy. Also works well in a prepared 9" graham crust if you don't want to bother with the springform.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: SALLYCAT
The thing to keep in mind with this cake is that the key lime juice makes it very tart, but does not have a strong 'lime' taste. The lime flavor comes from the zest. I followed the directions for the filling, and found that it was very tart, but I could not identify a strong lime flavor. In the future, I think I would cut down slightly on the juice, but add a little bit more zest. That way it will be good and limey, but won't make me pucker with each bite! For the crust, I added 1/4 c. sugar, and I baked it for 6 min. at 375 before adding the filling. I like a crispier crust.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: DBHALL
The recipe was easy to follow. I would use a little less lime juice next time. I put a pan of water in the oven while cooking and my cheesecake did not crack. However, it cracked like the Grand Canyon after I put it in the refrigerator. Any suggestions??
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: Roz Blair
One word for this cheesecake.....AWESOME!!! My boyfriend bugs me to death to make him cheesecakes so I surprised him by making this one for dessert tonight! Not only was HE pleased, but I just snuck a second piece and had to come online to write this review. Made one tiny little alteration however...I used Coconut Bar cookie crumbs and added 3 Tbsp. of shredded coconut for the crust. Using Key Lime juice is absolutely necessary. You can buy it by the bottle in most grocery stores so you don't have to crack knuckles juicing key limes. Took the advice of a previous review also and instead of chilling in the refrigerator, put it in the freezer and it was nice and cool when I served it. No doubt.....this cheesecake is FAN-TAB-U-LOUS!! You won't be sorry if you choose to make this one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches