My reviews (18)

Creole salmon with orange

Create this wonderful dish in 20 minutes using just 4 ingredients. Salmon steaks are seasoned with Creole spices and then pan-seared, before being simmered with orange juice.
Reviews (18)


30 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: STRAWBERRY02
This is a good basic recipe as far as type of ingredients go. I sprinkled the salmon with the cajun seasoning and cooked on medium heat with olive oil and butter - kind of gave it a nice seared outside then after i flipped it once I drizzled just a bit of orange on each piece of salmon then after the salmon was done I made the orange juice into a glaze type - I poured the fresh squeezed orange juice (I used 2 oranges) into the pan threw a dash of cajun seasoning and I added a few drizzles of honey (to taste)and let it come to a boil then served the glaze with the salmon. My husband said it was wonderful - one of the best salmon recipes he had eaten. I did not use any measurements from this recipe I just did everything to taste or what I thought was "good enough" the amount of seasoning that I used gave the fish a really good bite not hot but a good bite. Very good and will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Jess13dc
Ok I'm going to be one of those obnoxious people who totally changes a recipe and then rates it...I had a salmon filet and very little time, so I was looking for something fast and with no special ingredients to go buy. I didn't have Creole seasoning and I don't even know what's in that so I used chili pepper, hot curry powder, and Chinese 5 spice powder (very random, I know). Then, what I thought was an orange in the back of the fridge turned out to be a grapefruit! I just used that anyway, although there wasn't enough juice and after a few minutes it was becoming a thick syrup in the pan so I added a little mango nectar, the only juice we had. But despite my complete lack of following the recipe, the salmon was delicious! It just goes to show this is a very flexible recipe, you can use any seasonings and any juice and get great results. I'll definitely try to original version next time though!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 May 2006
Reviewed by: corta
This is a good recipe for non-salmon lovers and those who have a hard time cooking fish without drying it out. I did add some butter and some soy sauce to enhance the flavors. We will eat this again soon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: kris10cook
I think that the salmon steaks are too thick for this recipe, next time I will try filets. I used frozen orange juice and let the last 5 minutes cook with the lid on, the salmon came out nice and flaky. I will try again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: IMCookinNow
This recipe was pretty good. I did make a few changes of my own. First, I used Blackened Seasoning instead of Creole, and added a little Garlic Herb Mrs. Dash. I chopped one clove of fresh garlic and added that, next time I will probably cut that in half. I used a Blood Orange for the juice. I also added about 3 Tablespoons of low sodium Soy Sauce to the orange juice. I baked in the oven at 350 for about 10 minutes before adding the orange juice and soy sauce mix. Then I baked for about 15 minutes more. Next time, I think I will just pour the orange juice on before the whole baking process, as the blood orange flavor was very light, almost not there. I like my flavors to really pop. Served with plain mashed potatoes and lemon herbed asparagus spears. This was a hit with my family!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: terri
I had some red snapper in the freezer, along with some lime juice concentrate. The cajun seasoning gave it the bite, and the conentrate gave it some sweet! It was great. Will use this recipe again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: MTCHYG
Subbed Salmon with Steelhead... this was fantastic!! Loved it. Used two 1/2 pound filets instead of the steaks. Beautiful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Serafina
Really yummy recipe. My one orange didn't produce a lot of juice, so I added some lime and lemon juice and it gave the fish a really nice citrus flavour that went really well with the spice of the Creole seasoning! Served it with rice and drizzled the leftover citrus juices from the pan on top of the rice. YUM. Definitely going to make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Kat
Easy and delicious- two of my favorite adjectives! I haven't been cooking for that long but this turned out great. I plan to make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Jens
My husband and I thought this was decent. We would eat it again, but it was not our favorite salmon recipe. We did think it had an unusual flavor, and that is a plus.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches