My reviews (24)

Pheasant Mushroom Saute

Pheasant is sauteed with a mixture of wild mushrooms, shiitake mushrooms and sun-dried tomatoes. The flavours of the pheasant and mushrooms complement each other well. Serve over pasta, rice or mashed potatoes.
Reviews (24)


27 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: Seamonkey
I am always looking for new ways to make a dish and I was very happy with this refreshing way to make pheasant. My husband and I love the different tastes of mushrooms and enjoyed the flavors of these two ingredients together. I could not find dehydrated mushrooms at my grocery store so I used fresh button, Shelf, and Shitake mushrooms along with the Portabella. In place of the liquid from the mushrooms I used 1 can of chicken broth. I will definitely make this dish again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: wannabegourmet
This was a wonderful recipe. I have never had pheasant before. My husband has and he said it was a wonderful recipe, as did my step-son, who would never have tried it if he knew there was pheasant in it!! The mushrooms and rice took all of the gamey flavor out of the bird and left a wonderful taste that I compare to the most flavorful chicken that I have ever eaten. I can't wait to try this recipe when my in-laws visit. They are big game eaters and I know they will love it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: C.W. Gass
I have to agree with the other reviewers- this is a phantastic pheasant recipe! The only recommendations I would make: #1- After getting it all put together, put it in a crock pot for 3 more hours and the pheasant really softens up; #2- If you like it hot, like I do, throw in some cayenne or red pepper flake! Thanks for a great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: LMF443
This recipe rates a 5 star if you make is as it's written. I read through the other reviews and put everything in a slow cooker after searing the pheasant meat and sautéing the mushroom sauce. That was a mistake. Granted the sauce was delicious and very flavorful. However the pheasant does not have enough fat in the meat to be very good in a slow cooker so instead it comes out dry with a terrible texture. My recommendation: either make it as stated in the recipe, or sauté everything but the meat, throw it into a slow cooker while letting the pheasant marinate, and cook up the pheasant right before you serve it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Val E.
Only change was to crock-pot the pheasant. When I finally combined it, my knees buckled!! So delicious!!! Served over Basmati rice. Thank you. Thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Rachel
This is by far the best pheasant recipe I've tasted! It was just fantastic! I didn't change a thing and can't imagine a way to improve it. Thank you!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Melissa
This is a wonderful recipe! Restaurant worthy~ I did however alter a few things. I actually slowed cooked this recipe in my crock pot. I used fresh mushrooms, dried julienne cut tomatoes and a little veggie stock to keep the moisture. My husband and company raved for days over this meal. It's so good, I only prepare for great friends. Serve it over any rice, its spetacular.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Samantha
Fantastic.... I have a restaurant in Spain and everyone loves it...used the slow cooker aswell 3 to 4 hours.. very tender and tasty. Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Chris I.
Excellent recipe! Wow, the flavor is awesome. The only thing I would suggest is to make sure that you soak the dried mushrooms for a long enough time before you make the recipe. I would not put this is a crock pot as pheasant meat is very tender and will get tough and dry if overcooked. I did need a little more liquid so I added about 1/2 cup of chicken stock at the end.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Stoep
I've been on the lookout for a solid pheasant recipe and this really came through. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches