My reviews (85)

Peanut pork with rice

This Thai-inspired pork dish is made in a slow cooker. A pork shoulder joint is cooked with peppers, garlic, teriyaki sauce, rice wine vinegar and crushed chillies, then stirred with peanut butter and served with rice.
Reviews (85)


12 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: SUSAN_LINDBERG
Excellent! Everyone liked it from kids to grandma. Made a few changes: 1. At the start: 1.5x the vinegar and teriyaki to make more sauce; added 1/8 C lime juice, 2T sesame oil, 1/4 t lemon peel at beginning of roast. 2. I added the red pepper 1 hr before the end of the roast. 3.At the end of the roast period, upped peanut butter to 1/2 cup and added 1 T hot sauce and about 3-4 T brown sugar (to taste) with the peanut butter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: VERSTEEG
I think this recipe suffers from an identity crisis. There is nothing "Thai" about this dish. Teriyaki, a Japanese sauce, is combined with peanut butter to emulate satay-style pork. But that needs to be grilled for best effect. In order to give it more of a Thai flavor, I added a kaffir lime leaf, a bit of fish sauce instead of the teriyaki, and some shallots. All in all, the taste was okay, but too peanut buttery. And shredded peanut butter pork on rice just felt...wrong. It was tender and pulled very easily, but I think it is more suited to a sandwich or something. Not bad, but I found myself asking "what do I DO with this stuff?"
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: What a Dish!
Good! I had to substitute low-sodium soy sauce for the teriyaki (thought I had some but I didn't). Also used skinny pork chops and didnt' shred them. Added some lime juice, and fresh lime slices on the side when we ate. Made brown rice instead of white.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: LAGIRL
This is my husband's favorite recipe. Be sure and thoroughly stir the peanut butter into the drippings left in the pan. It works best when the drippings are still hot. Then add the pork shreds back in and stir - YUM!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: DEBMCE4
Really good. I did make a some of changes though. I used a 2lb roast with some ginger-garlic paste, adding no vegetables. At the end I stir-fried the peppers and some julienned (matchstick)carrots. After all was combined I added thai chili paste and fresh cilanro. The peanut butter thickens as you cook it, so I will try making a little extra sauce the next time. Great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: FOCUSED ON FOOD
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe yesterday. While we did find it under-spiced for our tastes, we by NO means found it bland or flavor-less. We just added in our own extra red pepper, hot sesame oil, and teriyaki or soy sauce to suit our own tastes. If you were serving this for a mixed crowd - this is definitely the way to go - as you don't know who is spice-adverse. I must say though, that I didn't measure my PB exactly - so I may have used a bit more than the recipe called for. Also, after the pork cooled for a bit in the slow cooker - the peanut butter flavor really hit it's peak and it was wonderful! Next time I make it - I think I will leave a bit more time for the shredded pork to cook in the juices and then SLIGHTLY cool in the slow cooker before serving. I am looking forward to leftovers tonight.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: jmh
Next time, I will add red bell pepper later in the cooking. There was nothing left of these vegetables. Also will add more red pepper and probably some Thai chilli paste, as I thought it was a bit bland. May try to double the sauce so there is more of it, but this could also be that my slow-cooker cooks at a hotter temp. Overall, a good recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: lafr
Very successful dish! The meat and rice seemed plain so I added a side of stir-fry napa cabbage, carrots, and onion done "fake pad thai" style (ketchup, vinegar, sugar. I'll make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: SERENES
This had a nice flavor, but there was almost too much going on - too rich. I put chopped peanuts and cilantro on top and it made it much better. The green of the cilantro really helped to cut the richness of the dish. I couldn't eat it without it. I followed other reviews and added the peppers (and broccoli) much later in the cooking. It was almost pointless. They just disintegrated. Only use peppers, and add them close to finishing the dish - maybe 1/2 hour or 45 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: kendrahr
this was surprisingly good. a little too peanuty for me, but everyone else raved...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches