My reviews (22)

Homemade spicy sausages

An adventurous recipe, which shows you how to make your own spicy pork sausages. Pork, pork fat and numerous seasonings are used to stuff natural sausage casings. Use these sausages as you would with shop-bought sausages.
Reviews (22)


13 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: Richard Tebaldi
Instead of using the casings to make sausage, I bought a plastic hamburg maker ($4) and make sausage patties.It's a lot easier to deal with than the casings are! I think casings are more "tradition" than useful, now with refrigeration as it is today! I discouvered for the most part, I remove the casings when I use sausage anyhow... It's also easier for making sandwiches! Good Recipe!' ciao
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 May 2008
Reviewed by: savories
Fabulous taste...I have a tip for the casings...rinse well and soak them overnight in cold water with 2 cut up oranges (lemons are too acidic and will creates holes in casings)in refigerator. Next day drain and rinse well. My Italian family has been doing this for many, many years making soppressata. It removes that icky intestine odor and makes they whiter also
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: COEUR
When I read the ingredients for this recipe, I could almost taste it! It was a delicious recipe. I did make mine smaller to be able to put them in a roll for a sandwich and on the grill they are PHENOMENAL! This is a 'MUST HAVE' recipe for your list of sausages to make. The liquid smoke gave it a wonderful smokey taste without the smoker.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Ruth McCoskey
This is not smoked?!?!? I thought Audouille was a smoked sausage.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: linda2d
I don't really buy sausage links and detest natural casings so I used this recipe(with ground turkey) for my jambalaya. I would have liked a little more spice and I forgot the liquid smoke but the flavor was good regardless. I shaped the meat into little logs and baked it so that I could still slice chunks for the dish. I also used it in AR's tuscan soup recipe. I will be trying this with ground pork when I can find it. Thanks, Edward
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Sherry Silveira
Instead of making sausage, I mixed the ingredients and fried the meat with chopped onions. I then added sliced boiled potato and some eggs that I had scrambled up. The spicing of the meat is incredible. This was a big hit with the family.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: GrandeBouche
Sliders are popular these days so this recipe is an excellent alternative to beef sliders-better tasting and much cheaper. I omit the pork fat and casing. I use gloves and squeeze the mixture thoroughly to combine the spices. I form small slider size patties topped with cheese and onions. I've also used this sausage in soups. This recipe is very versatile, you can make the sausage as hot as you like. I am the chef at a sports bar and grill in Dania Beach, Florida. I will be making these Sausage Sliders for the Superbowl representing Louisiana along with Breaded Pork Tenderloin Sliders to represent Indiana
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: smokin greg
awesome, Hats off to you Edward. Your sausage is just the right blend, to begin with not too hot, it allows you to experiment with it and not set you on fire the first round.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: OldFoodie
I made this a couple weeks ago & although time intensive w/boning,chopping,grinding the meat, it was delicious. I didn't use liquid smoke and cut back the cayenne a little.I rolled it into links and we smoked them on the grill on cedar planks. Before tasting, I swore I would never make sausage again. But I definitely will. Freezes very well. I used it in shrimp gumbo and chopped fine in andouille (Charleston style)grits. Everyone at the gathering raved about both!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: foodaholic
I omitted hickory smoke. I am going to explore a different casing route. I kept smelling a pig farm, no, pork intestines. I did as the butcher instructed, flushing them with lots of water. I found them quite tough after boiling the sausage-strong odor of pig farm while cooking. I opted for patties with part of the recipe. Overall, this was a great experience and I look forward to more homemade sausages.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches