My reviews (106)

Quinoa Salad

Cooked quinoa is tossed with green peppers, red onions, sweetcorn, black beans, tomato, lime juice, red wine vinegar, olive oil and feta cheese to make this remarkably refreshing salad.
Reviews (106)


22 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Azone12
Great Recipe! I made this for 40 people, and it was a hit! The only thing I did differently was use 1/2 chicken broth, 1/2 water to cut down on the salt a bit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 May 2010
Reviewed by: Rossinator
This was very yummy, especially with the addition of a chopped jalapeno! Making the Quinoa I substituted olive oil for butter, used water and 1 tsp kosher salt. I needed to make ahead so I used a different technique; cooked quinoa and refrigerated overnight in a separate bowl by itself; then chopped all the vegetables except cilantro, added a chopped jalapeno, used fresh cooked corn off the cobb, mixed in a bowl set aside. Then made a dressing with the lime juice, vinegar, olive oil and adobo seasoning (I made my own seasoning; does not contain salt or MSG); tossed with vegetable mix; tossed in the drained and rinsed beans and marinated mixture over night. The next morning; chopped the cilantro; gently folded with the vegetables; then folded in the quinoa; put back in refridgerator. Just before serving gently folded in the feta cheese and garnished with whole cilantro leaves. Did not use any extra salt; except when cooking quinoa. The cheese is very salty, no need to add extra. The day after my party I added left over cut up grilled chicken to the left over salad. Even my meat and potatoes husband LOVED it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Margaret Pfeifle
I made using Kashi pilaf and didn't use chicken broth and I thought this was great. Making it for lunch. I didn't have adobo so looked up recipe for it and made it from scratch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Baking Nana
This is a keeper and will go into my regular rotation. BEWARE - start with less lime and then adjust the dressing a little at a time. I did use olive oil instead of butter and diced red and yellow peppers. Some people were a little leary of this salad but those that tried it, loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: kellykulpa
Loved this salad! I didn't have adobo, so I made my own (garlic powder, onion powder, oregano, cayenne). I didn't have a tomato on hand, but it was great w/out it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: birdgoop
Yum yum yummy! I added avocado--even better!! Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Lorissa
So easy and tasty. I used red quinoa which makes the presentation very beautiful. I omitted the cheese, but added in a fresh jalapeno to my sautee mix. Finally, I made a wrap with the quinoa salad- a warm whole wheat tortilla with some pepper jack cheese and avocado. A great lunch!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Cathy Myers
My husband requested this salad as a side to go with mesquite grilled chicken and zucchini. Obviously, it made quite an impression on him, which is a compliment to the author of this recipe! I have only made it one time months ago but HE remembered it. Made per the recipe, FANTASTIC!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Brenda Wilbur
Not as flavorful as I hoped that it would be.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: keichers
I eat this stuff like it's cake batter while I'm making it...it has such good flavor!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches