My reviews (46)

Creamy Peanut Butter Spaghetti

Freshly cooked spaghetti is tossed in a sauce made from peanut butter, light soy sauce, garlic, cream, sesame oil and chilli sauce, before being garnished with coriander.
Reviews (46)


25 Feb 2017
Reviewed by: Flonkadonk
Made this when I realised I didn't have enough spaghetti bolognaise for myself and family. Everything was in the cupboard, so it was great to just throw together. I used coconut cream instead of regular and it worked wonderfully. This was very easy to make and tasted great.
 
16 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: LitleLisa1
A few additions added a LOT of flavor to this recipe: 1 tbsp lemon juice, 1/2 - 1 tbsp finely chopped fresh ginger, 1 tsp+ each of cayenne pepper and chili powder to replace the chili sauce, and chunky peanut butter for crunch. I also used fat-free half-and-half to replace the cream (milk works well, too) because there's enough fat in the peanut butter. The half-and-half keeps it creamy. I let the sauce sit for about an hour and it was great served with a stirfry of broccoli, carrots, and red pepper over noodles.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: R. Fang
This was a delicious recipe! I modified it slightly, but used the same measurements. Sticking with traditional Thai cooking, I replaced the heavy cream with coconut milk. I also added a dash of fish sauce. I replaced the chili sauce with 1 tsp dried red pepper flakes. I used dark soy just because it has a deeper flavor. I also replaced hot water with chicken stock. You can always add more stock to thin the sauce. For the garnish, I used scallions and crushed peanuts.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: DREGINEK
Outstanding! The leftovers were even better as the flavors "soaked" into the noodles! My boyfriend didn't like this (the PB was just too much for him BUT...perhaps if I had fed him the leftovers, he might have changed his mind? ) A couple changes: First, I used 1/2c HOT chicken broth instead of the water and used only 8oz spaghetti noodles so that it wouldn't be "dry." Second, right before the noodles were done, I tossed in a head of chopped broccoli into the water so that they would cook. Finally, I fried up 2 chicken breasts in a little butter and chicken broth - cut them in chunks and placed them atop the pasta. The broccoli gave this color (and I love my veggies) the chicken added some substance and the noodles tasted - well - just darn good! I would have liked this a little spicier but I can play around with that more the next SEVERAL times I make this! Thanks a bunch Holly!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: Mollycurls77
I used this as a sort of template to build on. I used extra garlic and soy sauce, used a thai chili paste in place of the chili sauce and also added a few drops of thai fish sauce. When I added the peanut mixture to the spaghetti, I found the taste to be too sticky, so I then added some chicken broth to thin it a bit...then voila I had a perfect pasta dish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Pichoux
Yummy recipe! I followed the example of other reviewers and used coconut milk instead of cream and stock instead of water. I also added 1 tablespoon of lemon juice, a few dashes of fish sauce, 2 teaspoons of sambal oelek, and 1 teaspoon of crushed ginger. I stir fried some pork strips, onion, red pepper strips, sliced carrot, and broccoli and added that to the spaghetti and sauce. It had a nice mild heat to it and a wonderful peanut taste!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: JT'sMom
Nice flavor, to make it a more harty meal I topped it with Tyson ready grilled chicken breast strips, diced roma tomtaoes, sliced green onoin, chopped honey roasted peanuts and used about 1/2 bunch of chopped cilanto (we love it). I also used penne.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Tonia
I loved the idea of this dish but it was not something I will make again. The descriptions of others were accurate in describing the flavors, it just wasn't something I could like. It was creamy, had a decent flavor but none of us in my family fell in love with it. We all ate it, no one refused it, but discussed the fact that I will never make it again. My son adds bbq sauce to everything so he said it was ok (with bbq sauce). I'm definitely glad I tried it, we come across loved recipes that way, we just won't "try" this one again. I don't want to turn people away from this recipe, because if all of the ingredients are something you like, give it a whirl. That's what I did.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: HETHRA
I followed suggestions made by LitleLisa1 and DREGINEK and the results pleasantly surprised me. I used: 1/2 cup hot chicken broth instead of water, dark soy sauce, about a tsp of Cayenne pepper instead of chili sauce (and a few pinches of red pepper flakes), a few dashes of Thai Fish Sauce, a tiny dash of Dashi-no-moto, a dash of cinnamon, 1 tbsp. lemon juice (I consider this ingredient necessary), and had no cilantro though will use it next time. Also I used a mini food processor to roughly chop the peanuts for garnish. I had heavy cream on hand but next time I will definitely use either half&half or milk as the heavy cream was very heavy. And with regular peanut butter the sauce definitely has enough fat! ALSO I Pan-fried/sauteed Haddock loins in some peanut oil and a little of the peanut sauce, and then added some fresh broccoli florets and chopped carrot and let them simmer but it's crucial the veggies stay a little crunchy to offset the soft texture of the noodles and sauce. I used the 8.8oz package of Eden Udon noodles.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: AUBERS
This was pretty good, although I may have used too much pasta to the amount of sauce I had because it came out really dry and a little bland. Don't overdo it on the pasta!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches