My reviews (132)

Tilapia in coconut curry

This is a simple yet delicious way to prepare fish. Tilapia fillets are simmered in a lightly spiced coconut curry, made with lemongrass, ginger, turmeric and crushed chillies.
Reviews (132)


16 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: moonshado
The method of preparation is not clear in when the puree is added to the pan and if read in the sequence suggested would possibly lead to the fish being overcooked. However that is a nice combination of ingredients , so I modified the method to fit my way of cooking. I only used enough coconut milk to make the puree flow smoothly - about 1 tablespoon. I then heated the oil in the pan and quickly fried the fillets to just give them a bit of colour on both sides. I then removed the fillets and kept them warm, whilst preparing the sauce. In the same pan using the same oil I added the puree and cooked over a low heat, until the puree was very fragrent and the oil was seperating back out. Durings this time the puree needs to be stirred frequently and if it is sticking to the bottom of the pan a small amount of water should be added. I then returned the fish to the pan and coated with the puree. Added the rest of the coconut milk, bought to a simmer and cooked until the sauce was thick. I then served. I did not use chilli flakes as I am not convinced that dried chilli flakes should be used as a garnish. I sprinkled with ground cayenne pepper- about 1/2 teaspoon. Alternatively you could use thin slices of fresh red chilli.
 
08 Jan 2016
Reviewed by: nicsollars
Loved it - followed method on allrecipes.com which was less confusing - add fish to pan then add sauce then simmer for 15 minutes. Added lemon zest instead of lemon grass. Will make this again
 
22 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: KOALAGIRL
I'll be honest, in the morning when I first made the sauce and did the old "finger dip taste test", I wasn't crazy about the flavor. But when I made the entire dish that evening, WOW! I made a special trip to a Oriental market for fresh lemongrass and that made a huge impact on the sauce. We had the fish served over rice and a side dish of green beans. Very rich, very Thai. I highly recommend you double the sauce in this recipe. I'm going to try it over chicken as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: MNGO
The basis was good. I used fresh ginger instead of ground, swapped curry paste for the tumeric,used a whole lemon grass stalk, and omitted the pepper flakes. I also added about 1/8 cup of Fish sauce. I also added garlic in the mix. It was a five star after that.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Mantu
This recipe has some Potential but needs to be worked on ... So ,I tried making it the way we make Indian Curry with Thai Blends ,can call fusion sorts.made paste of Fresh ginger, garlic 4 cloves,some fresh coconut meat ,and almonds 6 and little coconut milk (just enough to rotate the grinder).Sauted the onions in 1-2 tbs of canola oil ,then added the paste and fried it for 5 mints at low,added water 1/2 cup and covered and cooked ,added 1 tbs Indian red pepper powder + 1/2 tbs Coriander powder+baby carrots ,some cauliflower florets (all precooked) at this point added fish fillets and lastly some frozen peas.It took 10 mints after adding fillets to done the Curry.thanks!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: DAVISINPR
This is a very good recipe. I used garlic chili paste instead of crushed red pepper to give it an authentic Thai flavor. Would definitely recommend making this dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: LOVECED
As a Thai food loving family we all agreed this was fantastic! The flavors all came together nicely, I couldn't find lemon grass so I used lemon zest. I'm also not a fan of nuts in my food so first I pulverized the almonds in the blender then I added the other ingredients and blended. I served it over sticky sushi rice, we couldn't get enough!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Tajah
Do you remember the movie, 'Amadeus?' The part when Salieri was performing a little march in Mozart's honor of meeting. Mozart took the silly little tune and turned it into something great. The same holds true with this recipe. I added one whole can of coconut milk, 3 x 1 inch piece of ginger peeled,12 almonds, 2 tablespoons of brown sugar, 1 tablespoon of fish sauce, 2 tablespoons of curry paste(red or green or yellow) dropped the salt and sprinkled the fish on one side with hot curry powder and black pepper and garlic powder on the other side. I added 1 tablespoon of sesame oil to the pan and lightly fried both sides of the fish and then covered with the sauce on low heat for 15 minutes, garnished lightly with red pepper powder, then served over a bed of rice.That was really an AWESOME dish!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 May 2005
Reviewed by: FADINHA
This recipe is simply awesome!! It's soo tasty, you can't get enough of it. My boyfriend told me this was the best fish recipe he ever tasted and I agree with him... I suggest to double the sauce though, it is really good and goes very well with basmati rice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Rachelle
We are huge thai fans and this was extremely disapointing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches