My reviews (50)

Sweet 'n' Spicy Roast Salmon

This salmon dish is simple to make and tastes fantastic. Salmon is roasted with a sauce made with hot pepper sauce, sugar, butter, honey, lemon juice and olive oil. Serve with a salad, rice, potatoes or pasta.
Reviews (50)


12 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Sam Z
This is flat out unbelievable!! I added an extra tablespoon of brown sugar (my wife doesn't like it very spicy)and used Crystal Hot Sauce. The combination of hot sauce and brown sugar makes a wonderful glaze. I didn't know hot sauce and brown sugar went so well together. DEFINATELY WILL MAKE AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Angela in KC
OMG! By far, the best salmon dish that I have ever eaten!! This recipe exceeds all other restaurant salmon, too! My sister came in town to visit and rather than go out to eat in frigid temps, we stayed in and made this dish---we were blown away by how great it tasted. Don't be intimidated by the amount of hot sauce...it really mellows with the baking. I will be adding this to my regular dishes. My kids didn't mind being guinea pigs with this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: mangowww
this was just delicious! I took a little less sugar and butter to reduce the calories but it was still great. I also added a little fresh ginger, which made it even better. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: DAS079
This is super tasty! The salmon flavor does not stand out very well, but if you don't like fishy flavor you might like this. Yummy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: stacykr
We loved this recipe. In fact, we’d rate it in our top 10 favorites (so far) on this site! We followed the recipe as written. Any previous reviewer who’s commented on the quantity of hot sauce being excessive is using the wrong type of hot sauce. Find a hot sauce (we use LA Gold) which has a spicy taste in addition to heat. There’s a big difference. 5 stars +++++++
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Pam Ziegler Lutz
We enjoyed this recipe for the most part, but I felt that the flavor of the hot sauce really masked the flavor of the salmon. This recipe would be well-suited for a person who isn't crazy about salmon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Sara B.
BAD BAD BAD. I don't know how this gets such high ratings, unless the secret is in what brand of hot sauce you buy. I used Louisianna Hot Sauce and all I could taste was that, along with a fishy taste now and again. My fish turned out kinda mushy too and I even cooked it for 30 minutes. Yuck.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: MRZIEGE
Excellent. I work with the chef who created this recipe. I was dubious as to the thought of Hot Sauce and Salmon--sounds like it would overpower the natural taste. I can assure you that it did not. We used Crystal's hot sauce, followed the recipe, and were very pleased with the results. -Andrew
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: tamzie
I was looking for a non-soy sauce based salmon dish. This looked promising because I had all the ingredients and I love spicy food. I'm sorry but I didn't care for it at all. I have variety of hot sauce and couldn't decide which one I should use so I used half hot wing sauce and half Asian rooster sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 May 2008
Reviewed by: Chari Campbell
More like 3 1/2 stars. I could handle the hot sauce; that I liked. It was the sweetness level that I didn't care for. I'd be apt to drop the brown sugar amount down if I were to make this again. I also didn't taste anything else other than the hot sauce and sugar. Just okay. Thanks, though, for letting me try!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches