My reviews (42)

Chicken with mango salsa

A tropical mango pineapple salsa does double duty as marinade and salsa in this spicy chicken dish.
Reviews (42)


Comment:
18 Jul 2008
Jennifer said:
Used different ingredients. This was excellent chicken but time consuming. Not great for children but great for adults! I didn't have rum on hand but used tequila instead, it was a great combonation with the lime and coriander. If your looking for a rewarding dish, this is it!
 
23 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: AnnieBeale
I thought this recipe was a bit peculiar! Why go to all the bother of cubing mango and putting pineapple chunks in when half of them have to be thrown away after marinating the chicken! Surely just the pineapple juice, lime, chilli, garlic ,rum and coriander would have been sufficient? Once I had taken half the salsa off before chucking the rest in the bin, I had to microwave the rest of the salsa and cool it overnight otherwise my cooked chicken would have been sitting on a fruit salad! cooking the salsa down made it much more luscious and a bit extra chilli on top before serving did the business. But really not sure about chucking all that fruit away because of having it around raw chicken. Will do the recipe again but do it my way!
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Esmee
Wow! This chicken dish is absolutely delicious. The fruit salsa adds a sweet and tangy taste to the chicken. I served this at a party and all of the guests wanted the recipe.
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: roundaboutmom
I had extra mangos and limes - and was looking for a good recipe to use them - and this hit the spot. It was time consuming to make - especially with the fresh squeezed juices. It was a nice tasting dish - but due to the length of time to put together, I don't see myself making it again.
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: GWTWFREAK
I attented a party the other weekend and made this salsa and served with tortillas crisps. It makes loads and was quite a hit. I also diced some green chillis for some added heat!
 
18 Jul 2008
I just made the salsa portion of this recipe & served with tortilla crissps. It was great!
 
23 Mar 2000
Reviewed by: Esmee Williams
Wow! This chicken dish is absolutely delicious. The fruit salsa adds a sweet and tangy taste to the chicken. I served this at a baby shower and all of the guests begged for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: roundaboutmom
I had extra mangos and limes - and was looking for a good recipe to use them - and this hit the spot. It was time consuming to make - especially with the fresh squeezed juices. It was a nice tsting dish - but due to the somewhat exotic ingredients, and the length of time to put together, I don't see myself making it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: Jennifer
This was excellent chicken but time consuming. Not great for kids but great for adults! I didn't have rum on hand but used tequila instead, it was a great combonation with the lime and cilantro! If your looking for a rewarding dish, this is it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: IRON CHEF
The marinade/salsa gave the chicken a nice flavor. As far as a side dish of salsa, I would have liked a little more "zing" in flavor, but I think I could modify that by adding a touch of jalapeno, or more chile pepper. All in all, a nice dish--thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches