My reviews (24)

Chilled Beetroot Soup

Jarred beetroot are great for this recipe, making it ready in minutes. You can save the juice, freeze it and add it in place of the chilled water or ice. Try serving with a dollop of soured cream.
Reviews (24)


Comment:
24 Jul 2008
Used different ingredients. I added extra lemon juice (one whole lemon), onion, salt, lots of pepper and an entire tub of soured cream (plus extra for garnish), then added cold ice water until it was the right consistency I made this as a starter for a vegetarian dinner party, and everyone LOVED it. Delicious and simple!! My favourite kind of recipe!!!
 
24 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: KATESTROFE
I am not a great beetroot lover. However, this was fantastic. It took longer to wash and dry the blender than it did to make the soup. How do you spell "scrumptious"?
 
24 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: CSANDST1
Wow! Yum!
 
25 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: HeatherWestworthRivett
As living in Malta very hard to get Sour Cream so would Greek Yoghurt do?
 
24 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Rebslo
This is a gorgeous soup. It really needs a sweeter onion. Maybe shallots. We used red onions and it was way too oniony.
 
24 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: ~TAYLOR~
This soup is delicious! I used roasted beets and followed the recipe exactly and it turned out fast, easy, and rich and tasty. Be sure you use a milder onion since it is raw and the flavour clearly comes through. A very gourmet looking and tasting recipe yet so so easy. Thanks!
 
04 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: JOHN1932
I am not a great beet lover. However, this was fantastic. It took longer to wash and dry the blender than it did to make the soup. How do you spell "scrumptious"?
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Lokelani
Wow! I made this soup on the hottest saturday here in california. I used 1/2 a Maui Sweet onion and ate it all the soup myself. Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: JENJOBART
This is a gorgeous soup. It really needs sweet (maui) onions. We used red onions and it was way too oniony.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: Karisma
I hate giving bad reviews, but as an experienced cook I just couldn't let this one get by. I put it on my dinner table and polite guests were dumping it back into the serving pot! It was mortifying!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches