My reviews (103)

Briam (Greek potato and courgette bake)

Briam embodies how Greek cuisine takes a few of the simplest of ingredients and turns them into something utterly delicious with little effort. This is a traditional dish served as a main course, and with olive oil as the only source of fat it is a quintessential example of the 'Mediterranean diet'. If preferred, serve with a hearty chunk of feta on the side.
Reviews (103)


03 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: babs1953
Great dish. All my husband kept saying as he was eating it is "Mmmmmmmmmm". I added a couple more ingredients though. Garlic & an aubergine. Oh & I used Thyme as well as parsley
 
21 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: troleman
All I had to cook with were potatoes and courgettes so I googled them and found this recipe. I had olive oil and red onions. No parsley so I used dried oregano. And a tin of Napolina tomatoes which I pushed through a sieve (You don't always get what you pay for in tinned tomatoes but Napolina are consistently high quality). I thought about adding some garlic but decided to trust the recipe. Excellent result with terrific flavour for such a simple recipe - and the oregano seemed to make it even more Mediterranean-y. Diana - you ARE a goddess!
 
13 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: Shrimpertom
Nice, quick to prepare, and tasty recipe. Can be varied slightly depending on available ingredients - I find a tin of Ratatouille makes a very acceptable substitute for the tomatoes, for example. Thanks, Diana.
 
24 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: cookdinner
Loved it!!!
 
08 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: aletaster
Great way of using courgette, easy and tasty.
 
18 Nov 2016
Reviewed by: Jenibar
Really thought this would be dry but very nicely surprised. Must cook for recommended time.
 
06 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: Whitey
My glut of courgettes come marrows are now safely "Briamed" & sitting in the freezer awaiting the winter months. Thank you for such a simple & delicious recipe ;o))) 5*+
 
25 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: Reluctant_Chef
A surprisingly good flavour. I did doubt how it would taste at first, looking at the lack of ingredients being used. I substituted the plum tomato purée with just over half a carton of tomato passata, added sweet potato, an aubergine, garlic cloves (whole) plenty of seasoning and only added three courgettes rather than four. Cooked for two hours (turning the gas up to gas mark 6 after the first hour) rather than 90 mins due to some of the potatoes not quite being done and the dish being slightly larger with added ingredients. Note. If you are going to make this dish don't substitute the oil for anything less. In my opinion it was the oils left over once cooked that really made this dish. an amazing depth of flavour I really didn't expect. 4 stars due to the fact I wouldn't personally have this as a main dish again, felt more like a side dish to me. Something to serve up when the family are round for a bit of a feast.
 
19 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: kapsaski
Thanks for posting the recipe, I had completely forgotten about briam. It is next on the list!
 
28 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: SpeedwayCat
Family staple! Great for us vegetarians and vegans. Freezes well too. Love it!
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches