My reviews (119)

Roast Poussin with Wild Rice Stuffing

This stuffing can be used in quail, gineau fowl or poussins. My mother used to make this for Easter Sunday lunch.
Reviews (119)


24 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: the allrecipes staff
Hello! We have updated the cook time for the rice in this recipe. We hope this helps with some of the problems that have been noted in the reviews. - The Staff
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Dragngirle
This was a great recipe. My boyfriend, who had never tried cornish game hen even liked it. I did the following: Added a tbsp. each of mushroom & celery & 1/8 tsp. of garlic (in jar). Also threw in ½ tsp. fresh rosemary leaves in step 1. Added pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, lemon pepper, & poultry seasoning in step 3. Turned heat down to 350 degrees 15 minutes after start. At step 4, I added ½ cup chicken broth (for 2 servings). Served with additional rice (was a kroeger wild rice with seasoning package box), steamed broccoli, & green beans (from can) with butter, salt, & pepper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: ScorpioGG
In the Better Homes and Gardens cookbook, 'Cooking for Two' (1968), the rice listed is long grain rice with a cooking time of 20 - 25 minutes. It also calls for a teaspoon of lemon juice to be added after the bouillon cube, and to baste the birds with the 1/4 cup of butter during the last 15 minutes of roasting time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: ASHLYNNS MOMMY
Delicious! I made a few modifications to the recipe. I used a regular 4 lb. chicken, and added rosemary, oregano, and black pepper to the outside of the bird. I also substituted celery for the almonds in the stuffing (don't care for almonds) and added a clove of minced garlic. The stuffing is good enough to serve as a stand-alone side dish. This made a wonderful meal on a chilly autumn evening, thanks for posting it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: SHIRLEY122
I found this recipe a couple weeks ago and then my grocer put cornish game hen on sale, so I've tested this recipe twice! This one is a real winner. Easy to prepare, but remember to start this a couple hours before you want to eat. As a great bonus it makes your house smell great. A couple of substitutions that I made were using 1/3 cup of wild rice pilaf instead of just wild rice, this worked out perfectly. I also used 1 cup of low sodium canned chicken broth instead of the bouillon and water which worked well too. Also, I liked adding 2 Tbls of golden raisins to the butter, almonds, and onions for the rice stuffing. It gives it a nice sweet dimension. Also, if you don't have any slivered almonds on hand you can use any others nuts. I just chopped some mixed nuts and used those and it was still yummy! Thank you for sharing this great recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: CookinCrystal
The hens turned out pretty good. I added mushrooms, onion, celery to white rice as well as the chicken broth. I also added seasoned rice and chicken with a little poultry season, salt and pepper. I basted the hens with more broth after the first 1/2 hour and each 1/2 hour after. The rice was very tasty and the hens were juicy and flavorful. I saved the leftovers and made rice muchroom soup. Turned out great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: NotoriousYBB
I used this recipe for my 2 year annniversary. As a beginning cook I found this recipe very easy to follow, and very delicious. My husband absolutely loved the cornish hens. The only thing that I changed (for time constraints) was the wild rice. I used the Uncle Bens Microwave Rice to start the cooking on the rice and then I added butter and cooked it on the stove top to get the long grains softer. A tip that I would give anyone that uses this recipe is to make sure the rice is cooked thoroughly before you stuff the hens, and make sure you do leave the skin on while baking; otherwise your hens will get dry. Overall I would say that this recipe was very good. A+
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Midwesterner
I have grilled Cornish Hens many times but this the first time I stuffed them with rice. They turned out to be the best I've ever done. I only changed a couple of things. I used half long grain and half wild rice as I wasn't sure how my kid would like straight wild rice. I also added chopped celery to the rice. This recipe was a big hit and I will definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: Sabryna Cornish
This was fabulous. The hens came out really tender and everyone raved about the rice!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: SOATWAY
I'm not a great cook and even I wowed my guests! Really easy and great for entertaining as it doesn't require alot of babysitting. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches