My reviews (86)

Creamy avocado dressing

This salad dressing is super-easy to make. Avocado is blended with mayonnaise, soured cream, buttermilk and seasonings. Drizzle over salads or use as a dipping sauce.
Reviews (86)


19 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: JSAVIDGE
I didn't have buttermilk so substitued regular nonfat milk. We liked this. I'm sure it's better with the buttermilk. I did add more onion powder, dill, and garlic powder than called for, and still thought something might be missing? Could just be the buttermilk
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Kathleen Unsell
We really liked this dressing! I'll definitely be making it again. We were fortunate to have home-grown Reed avocados from our friends' orchard on hand. They are extra buttery-tasting and have a wonderful texture. After blending the ingredients, I did thin it down just a bit for dressing. Thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Jen Breitlauch
This dressing was pretty good as is, but then I added some fresh cilantro and some lime, which put it over the top. Also, I used buttermilk instead of sour cream (just because I had a lot of buttermilk that needed to be used up).
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: BusyBeeTami
I used all fresh ingredients and dressed my cobb salad with this dressing. Really good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: footballgrl16
I made this exactly as stated, and it was awesome! Great with dipped veggies, and the southwestern style egg rolls! Will keep in my collection. My husband, who despises avocado, even enjoyed it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Litegal1
I love love love LOVE this recipe - not as a salad dressing, but more as a sauce/dip mix. I added a pinch of cumin as we were having tacos that nite, and those tacos, made with Charley's Mexican Meat, and topped with this and pico de gallo were simply to DIE for. Lovely subtle avocado taste that was the perfect contast to an otherwise spicy meal. Great as a dip with veggies and tortilla chips - this is def a keeper. Oh! Just a quick note - the first time I made this, I was out of sour cream and used all mayo. Let me tell you, after one taste, my daughter and I both looked at one another and said "deviled eggs". We tried it as a filling for hard boiled eggs and they were devoured in a matter of minutes...great job and ty so much for recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Jun 2013
Reviewed by: Brian McClory
Great dressing! I used fresh parsley instead of dried and the flavor of this perfectly matched the chili lime chicken salad it was mixed with.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Jun 2013
Delicious .... so good you'll be tempted to eat it out of the bowl with a spoon! Tried it as specified (except subbed milk for buttermilk because I didn't have any) and thought it was fresh tasting and yummy; added lime juice and fresh cilantro as suggested in another review and liked it even better. Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 May 2012
Reviewed by: tpf2005
de-lish! as per other reviews, i served this over a salad of romaine lettuce, cherry tomatoes, avacado slices, bacon crumbles, and gorganzola cheese. for a bit of protein, I also served Spicy Black Bean Cakes and topped them with this dressing. It was awesome!! I can wait to try this dressing on many other things.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: flunkiejunkie
This is a great dressing. I had to make a few substitutions, but the core of the recipe lends itself to variation. I didn't have buttermilk so I used a touch of coffee cream. I didn't have dill either, so I used 1.5 tbsp of dill pickle juice. This gave the dill flavour and added the zing the buttermilk would have brought. I also added a couple squeezes of lime juice. I put this on top of a wedge salad, and it was a nice alternative to blue cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches