My reviews (722)

Barley and vegetable soup

A deliciously hearty vegetarian soup. Barley is simmered with carrots, celery, tomatoes, chickpeas and seasonings, to create this wonderful soup. Serve for lunch or dinner.
Reviews (722)


21 May 2012
Reviewed by: debbiee69
I've made this twice now and I really love it. It's a tasty soup/stew and the barley just makes it mm-mm. Filling, low-fat, which is what I need. So easy to make. Thumbs up.
 
10 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: Yelsrud
The whole family loved this. I am going to make a batch every week! I left out the courgette and garlic and added more carrots and some fresh tomatoes that needed using up!
 
19 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Crystal S
Original recipe is 5 star and perfect for my vegetarian friends. Personally, I am a carnorvoire and have tried variations of this soup and all have been wonderful including the original posting. Try the following suggestions if you'd like to change it up: 1.) 1/2 vegetable and 1/2 beef broth to replace all vegetable broth. 2.) Add diced red meat - if using a tougher cut, let it simmer in the broth until tender making sure your liquid doesn't reduce down much before adding the carrots and celery. The beef imparts a much richer flavor. 3.) 1/2 cup cooked barley is sufficient for this recipe, otherwise the barley soaks up the liquid. Enjoy!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: BEAKER1
i should have warned about the pepper! you should only use the very fine black pepper that most stores sell... if you use fresh coarse black pepper it will ruin the recipe! if you're not sure, omit the pepper and season to taste later.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: NOT-QUITE-A-CHEF
Great soup! Very easy to make and quite tasty. I used 3 cloves of fresh garlic and didn't have any parsley to add, but I don't even notice it. I also used low-fat, low-sodium chicken broth. For those whose soup came out very thick, try using non-instant barley...it takes more time but is well worth it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 May 2007
Reviewed by: Carrie
This is a great hearty soup with lots of flavor! Perfect for a cold day. I omitted the Worchestershire sauce since my household is vegetarian and I couldn't find the veg variety. Since I didn't want to leave out that tanginess, I added a splash of red wine vinegar instead. It came out nicely.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Slowcooker12
Wow! This was delicious, I added tomato paste instead of the diced tomatoes, more broth and less barley, and prepared it in a crockpot for 10 hours on low while I was at work. Will definetly make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: SUEBAGS
Wonderful hearty & healthy soup! I feared it would be too thick, so I cooked the barley separately. I also added red pepper & parsnips. It seems any veggie would be great in this, as would any bean type--though I would add softer beans late in the cooking so they don't disintegrate. The barley & spices are what sets it apart from other veggie soups. Will make again & again! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: THADEUS40
What a wonderful, satisfying, hearty, feel good soup! I substituted chicken stock for the vegetable broth and sauted several cloves of chopped garlic with the chopped onion in a little olive oil before proceeding with the recipe and omitted the garlic powder. This is truly a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: CreativeCook
This recipe has the best of many worlds - it's healthy, easy to make, inexpensive and the end result is a huge pot of yummy soup. I added a large container of fresh mushrooms and a 6 oz. package of spinach - this increased the moisture levels, so it wasn't as thick as others posted. I also used fresh garlic and threw in a teaspoon of savory by accident - it was still good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches