My reviews (36)

Beer, Cheese and Vegetable Soup

The delightful combination of cheese and beer, come together in this dish. Celery, carrots, mushrooms and cauliflower, are simmered together in a beer-flavoured cheesy soup.
Reviews (36)


18 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah
This is SO good! I followed the advice to add Velveeta (about 6 ounces). Since it did that, I used slightly less shredded sharp chedder (about 2 ounces less). I didn't have green onion on hand, so I used yellow onion, and light beer so it wouldn't overwhelm the soup. I salted and peppered the veggies while they sauteed and I forgot to steam the cauliflower separately, but it cooked perfectly during the 20 minute simmer. I didn't want to use 3/4 cup butter, so I used a few tbsps olive oil, and a couple tbsp light butter. I can't believe how good this soup is - the best soup I've had! I will absolutely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
I made this exactly as written, only using mild Cheddar rather than sharp, and light beer - and was initially very unimpressed. While I loved the chunkiness of the vegetables, the broth itself was watery rather than creamy and even had flecks or grains of cheese in it - not pretty. I took a guess on what would correct this and added a good chunk of Velveeta, noted for it's smoothness and melting quality. I can't tell you what an incredible difference this made! The soup was totally transformed and became creamy, rich and smooth! I was so pleased! Even though to start I really wanted to rate this as three stars, the soup ended up being so darn good I didn't want to take the risk of turning anyone off to it. With just this small change of adding Velveeta, this became a five star soup!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Melissa H.
I really loved this soup! This has to be one of the best soups I've made/eaten - and I don't like beer! I didn't have any califlower but used potatoes, adding them with all the other veggies. I added a bit of sour cream in the end and I had less than a bottle of beer to put in it but you could still taste it. We topped it with additional parmesan cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: peep
This was very tasty - my new favorite way to eat cauliflower! The recipe called for 3/4 cup of butter. I only used 1/4 cup of butter, and it was fine. I also used low-sodium vegetable broth instead of chicken, and about 1/2 cup more carrots and celery.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: MOLNARJL
I forgot to mention I used 16 oz of sharp cheddar instead of 8 and also omitted the parmesan
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Christin
This soup is so easy and turned out great. I omitted the mushrooms, celery, cauliflower and onions because I didn't have any. Instead I used frozen mixed veggies, corn, peas carrots, and added broccoli. My 2 and 4 year old loved it!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: cookie39
Awesome soup, served with chunks of crusty french bread! I used Henry Weinhard's Organic Amber Premium Ale for the beer. The taste was a little too "sophisticated" for my 15 year old though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Liza Beasley Imlay
I'm sorry. Way too much beer flavor. I thought the beer would cook off more.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Oct 2011
This is the absolute BEST beer cheese soup I have ever had in my life...I made a few little changes based on other suggestions and it was superb!!! First of all...the only vegis I used were the green onions and celery...Next time, I will add chopped potatoes however...I used a honey-dijon mustard as I didn't have any mustard powder..and it worked just fine..I also used only 4 cups of chicken broth and added one cup of cream of chicken soup (as this is usually the base of most beer-cheese soups)...I then used only 4 ounces of Cheddar and substituted the other 4 with Velveeta....I also forgot to use the Parmesan cheese but it didn't matter...the soup was absolutely FANTASTIC!! Perfectly smooth texture and not gritty or grainy at all...I highly recommend this recipe and it is now my beer cheese soup staple...will make it again and again!! Thank You!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: kortni
Aside from excluding the mushrooms, I kept this recipe the same. I also made a beer bread that I found the recipe for on here. Used a honey brown lager for both.. and both were delicious!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches