My reviews (71)

Cheesy Potato and Cauliflower Soup

This soup is packed full of vegetables and flavour. Broccoli, cauliflower, potatoes, spinach and Cheddar cheese are the ingredients needed, to make this hearty soup.
Reviews (71)


30 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Hannah Banana
This recipe definitly lives up to it's name as being the "best ever"! I made the soup last night to rave reviews. I made a few minor adjustments as follows. First, I added 1/4tsp. Cayenne Pepper to "kick it up a notch". Then I added 1/2 cup sour cream (yummy). And I made sure that the 2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese was sharp! That added so much more flavor. Excellent recipie. Would make again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: JennyP
For taste, I would give this recipe way more than five stars! It tasted great--I loved the combination of vegetables, plus I added a couple of carrots, and substituted frozen chopped spinach. My only other additions were salt, pepper, and the tabasco that I add to all cheese soups. The texture of mine turned out crappy, though, but I'm pretty sure it's because I didn't have enough potatoes. I'd already started putting it together before getting out the potatoes, and I maybe had 1 1/2 pounds, so the cheese had nothing to stick to but itself. Despite that debacle, everybody loved it, and I will definitely try again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Sally S.
If you have some time to prepare all the veggies and potatoes (it probably took me 45 minutes to chop everything) then it's worth the work! This soup was super creamy, I couldn't believe there wasn't milk or cream in it. I didn't chop the broccoli and califlower enough, so the pieces were too big- that's what I would change next time. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: scarlet begonia
Little pepper and it's perfect! Hooray for *real* food!! It's refreshing to find a recipe that's doesn't called for bags of frozen vegetables, dehydrated potatoes, canned soups and processed cheese!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Purple Tangerine
This soup has a fantastic flavor. My husband had oral surgery and needed something totally soft to eat; so we pureed the whole thing, broccoli, cauliflower and all. It was really tasty and had a great texture. However I am really looking forward to trying again with the original recipe when his mouth is healed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: KEZ
I scaled this down to 4 servings. To make it vegetarian I used vegetable bouillon instead of the chicken. After tasting I added some garlic powder. My daughter likes her soup quite chunky so I only blended about a third of the soup. Very enjoyable and bound to be on the menu again. Many Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Ashley Olmstead
This was absolutely delicious! I have a hard time getting my husband to eat vegetables, but he loved this. It turned out very green, which I loved but he was hesitant about, but it was so good he didn't mind!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Kristy Lundholm
I was looking to use up some broccoli and cauliflower that I had and stumbled upon this recipe. I didn't follow the recipe exactly because I just used what was on hand. I added some little bits of grilled chicken. Exciting way to use up my veggies
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: EthanMay5
Delicious! I followed the recipe pretty closely, but pureed it a bit more. I also added sour cream after reading the other reviews, and I recommend it. It tastes almost like a loaded baked potato. Very creamy and filling!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: Nonna
I really LOVE this soup. I omit the potatoes (to reduce carbs for a diabetic) and sauté broccoli and cauliflower along with the onions in olive oil and butter, then follow the other directions as listed. I use my immersion blender and blend all the vegetables once they are cooked. The soup is very creamy without lots of extra calories. Once the cheese is added, no salt or pepper are needed; the flavor is perfect. I've started calling this my "Virtuous Soup". Thanks for sharing the recipe, AMEHNEY.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches