My reviews (34)

Cranberry and Cinnamon Steeped Pears

Pears are steeped in a mixture of cranberry juice, cinnamon and sugar. The resulting pears are not only pretty pink in colour, but they are also very delicious.
Reviews (34)


21 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Lynn
This showy side salad delites the young and the old alike. I added a bit of powdered cinnomen to the cranberry juice. A vegtable peeler made the peeling process go quickly and a thin slice off the bottom made it so they all could stand proudly and uniquely. Afterwards I added a apple juice to the warm cranberry juice and served the flavorful leftovers chilled...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: lily
Very good! This was used as a dessert. Very tasty. I cooked down the leftover liquid and drizzled it over each pear just before serving. Presentation looked lovely and taste was terrific.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: gabrielglimpse
Easy to make and most delicious. I was concerned that the hard pears may not cook up well, but I was pleasantly surprised. I served these pears on a pedastal platter and the presentation was quite delightful. Thanks for the cranberry pear combo.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Patricia Pool Gillogly
I serve these as a light refreshing dessert after a heavier meal. Always a hit, and so easy. I have cooked them in a small crockpot for a few hours also. Just make sure it's only a few hours and not overcook.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: michaela
I served this for dessert and it was a hit. I left the peel on the pears and let the juice cook down into a syrup. (I used unsweetened cranberry juice and maple syrup instead of cranberry cocktail - then let it cook down until it was thick.) I then cut the cooked pears in half, scooped out the seed part and filled this with the 'cranberry syrup' and dribbled more across the top. Very pretty and delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Mindy
Color wasn't as noticable as I would like for it to have been. Would add a drop of red food coloring to liquid. Tried apples...taste good, but reduce cook time by 1/2.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: TenderTummy
Delicious, and made the whole house smell wonderful! Next time I might cook the pears longer to help them soak up even more of the sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: RAJIVMIRAGE
Made my apartment smell wonderful! Unfortunately, the cranberry didn't quite take to the pears and so the pear tasted, well, like a pear. The color was beautiful and would definitely make a lovely side to an ice cream dessert!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Miss Hayles
This is a delicious recipe that looks very fancy but is SUPER easy, definately one to make if you're wanting to impress. Its light with just the right amount of sweetness. My only recommendation is to add a bit more cranberry juice for the pear to soak in. The leftover sauce is also fantastic if you refrigerate overnight and then pour over vanilla icecream.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Janna
The pears are amazing! I left them to stew in the juice for about 35 min. instead of the suggested 20 because I used firm pears. The pears came out great! Next time I think I'll try adding some rum or something similar to give them a bit of a kick.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches