My reviews (30)

Brussels with Red Grapes

A creation that will make your taste buds sing. Brussels sprouts are simmered with butter, garlic, spring onions and red grapes. Serve as a side dish with whatever you choose.
Reviews (30)


17 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: JODIELLE
A great recipe, but I found you can cut out most of the butter to reduce fat and still maintain the great flavours.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: krista v.
What a nice change from the usual brussels sprouts with bacon! I sliced mine in half and boiled them for about 10 mins but will shorten that for next time since I like them a little more crisp. I used red grapes, garlic, less butter and olive oil and omitted the onions. I sprinkled a little parmesan and bread crumbs before serving but I think next time I'll try some goat cheese or gorgonzola. Last week I had dinner at a Lebanese restaurant in NY and one of our appetizers was this dish! They used green grapes and it was also delicious. However, I believe the restaurant's version was oven-roasted and there was a cheese sprinkled on top if I remember correctly. I will definitely make this one again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Deidre
This was fabulous! All of my family loved it. Just a couple of tweaks; I used frozen Brussel Sprouts and let them thaw in the fridge. They were just right for tossing in without the boiling stage (big time saver) plus they're smaller so no need to slice into halves and they were a nice size with the large red grapes. I also followed the advice of another review and used walnuts (large chop) at the very end just before serving EXCELLENT touch! I used jar chopped garlic and since there were no green onions in the house I used chives from the garden. I let mine sit long enough to get a bit of a carmelized effect on the sprouts for huge flavor. This was the best, you just have to be brave and give it a go.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: HUGASQUIRREL
Hmm... although my husband liked it, this will not be a "do over". There's a time and a place for brussel sprouts and grapes, but the same pot is not it. To put it another way... I like chocolate, and I also like niblet corn, but I'm not going to cook them together either.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: SBsMomma
This is great tasting - even for those who don't like Brussel Sprouts. My 2 year old liked it, especially the grapes!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: HappyKathy
This was good, but a little heavy on the fat side. The garlic is the predominant flavour here, along with the butter. The grapes realy balance this vegetable dish. I thought it was so odd, I had to try it. I served it at our Thanksgiving dinner, and had surprised reviews on it...from Wow, gapes and brussel Sprouts..to...I don' like brussel sprouts, but this is interesting. It was a fun dish to serve. I bet it wd taste even better with a little lemon juice. I would do it again...but I would like to experiment with another recipe for brussel sprouts until I find the perfet combination of spices for these little baby cabbages!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: SISTERWOLFE
This is the first time I have been able to get the bitter taste out of brussels sprouts. A totally fantastic recipe. I almost ate the whole pan myself!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: The Bunny Chef
This seemed like an interesting recipe to try, but it turned out just okay for me. My husband only ate one bite and I finished my serving fine. Perfectly edible but not particularly enjoyable for us. Thanks anyway!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: RLSTEELSTL
I made this recipe for the first time and took it to a holiday party. It was well-liked, everyone wanted the recipe. I didn't use any butter, but did add more olive oil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: GaPeach
Thought this recipe would be wierd, but it was great. We both love brussel sprouts and grapes, but couldn't imagine them together. I used some white onions and omitted the butter. The results were great. I'll definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches