My reviews (36)

Cabbage potato and bean soup

A hearty soup, which is substantial enough for a main course. Potatoes, celery, onion, cabbage, baked beans and sausages are simmered together in chicken stock. Perfect for lunch or dinner.
Reviews (36)


07 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: NLP408
Well, I was surfing for cabbage recipes- cabbage is cheap and I am broke. I was skeptical about this recipe but had all the ingredients on hand so what the heck? I was surprised- this soup is rather quite yummy and rich tasting. And considering it cost about $2 to make well worth it. I will make it again. I would recommend using a low sodim broth, it came out a bit salty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: NJSS2000
What a great soup for a winter meal. I cut up some leftover ham and added that to the pot too. I also had to add salt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: spin12
I tried this recipe on a whim and it wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. My 12 year old ate 3 bowls (amazing for her!) and my husband said he enjoyed it. I doubt I will make this again, unless I use some variation.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: eleanor williams
yyuumm. this was the base of a wonderful meal.I added a tin of chopped tomatoes used an ordinary tin of baked beans,added some carrots,and garlic.And towards the end i added canned corned beef.I just threw it all in one pot and let it simmer away for about 30mins.It was a huge hit with the family will definateley make this again thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: jen
This soup is definitely a keeper. Super easy to make, I threw it all in the pot together and let it simmer away. I love how it is low-cal and high-fiber too. Different and tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Lisa C
This was a tasty soup, but I did not like the texture of the beans with the soup. Next time I make it I will just add tomato sauce instead of the can of beans. I skipped the direction of cooking the vegetables first and just added them to the broth. Also basal and garlic powder improved the taste of the broth.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: loocyd
Quick, Easy, Cheap and Tasty. What more could one ask for?
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Caroline C
This is a great basic recipe, with lots of room for customization (different veggies, beans etc etc) My biggest problem with making it as written was that it was extremely unappetizing looking. If I were to make it again, I would add a bit of color with red potatoes with the skin on, carrots, bell pepper etc. But anyway, this is a great start for a healthy, easy and inexpensive meal. Thanks, Ruth!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: SHARONN
I love cabbage in soup, so I enjoyed this recipe and found it very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Krista
Pretty good, but a little bland....I would try to add more of a tomato base to it
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches