My reviews (79)

Simple Carrot Soup

A super-easy, creamy carrot soup recipe. Carrots are simmered with vegetable stock, seasonings and single cream, then pureed until smooth. Serve with crusty bread.
Reviews (79)


30 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: Dora
Very delicious and tasty. My husband was sick today and really doesn't enjoy soup but this great soup did the trick. I eliminated the parsley, put half (milk) and half (half and half) and after it was all done, I made it boil once again to make all the flavours come through. I also used 1 tsp dried basil instead of fresh. 10/10!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: Hut
For my first batch I didn't read the reviews and added the full teaspoon of pepper. I can't believe someone would want it this hot. You couldn't even taste the soup. Second batch, No pepper. It was better but I was still scarred from the first.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: SARAH_ANNEJ
WARNING: WAY TOO SPICY!!!! This recipe would be 5 stars if I hadn't added the red pepper. I didn't look at the previous reviews and added the amount called for. I had to throw the ENTIRE batch away because it was so hot nobody could eat it. I will make this again but only with 1/8 Teaspoon Red Pepper. You can't imagine how spicy this recipie is- and we like spice! I am still trying to cool down and we ate it 5 days ago.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Food Girl
This soup is different that I had hoped it would be, but surprisingly very tasty anyway. I used a 1/2 teaspoon of un-ground red pepper instead of the full amount, substituted the half and half for milk and used 3/4 cup of the water from the steaming of the carrots in place of the 3/4 cup of vegetable broth.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Want2BCooking
I really liked this soup and it was a great way to use a bunch of baby carrots I had on hand. I didn't have fresh herbs so I used 1 tsp of dried instead. I knew 1 tsp of cayenne pepper would be way too much for us so I cut it down to 1/4 tsp and then 1/8 tsp. Still has a kick so if you don't like spicy soup you would want to omit it completely or just put a sprinkle in. I also added a soup ladle of the cream base to the carrots before adding them to the pot. This helps prevent the "skin" from forming on a cream-based soup while it is sitting on the stove.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: SWEETNOTHINGS
I am a great fan of a carrot soup made by old german friends. I came to this site for a good carrot soup recipe, however I have to admit I was disapointed in this recipe. Carrots and cayenne don't seem to harmonize, in my opinnion anyway. Also, I don't think I steamed the carrots enough, and even after blending them in the food processor the soup was still lumpy/grainy. Maybe my previous experience with carrot soup set my standards too high??!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: L
For a less spicy and more complex taste - take out the cayenne pepper and replace with fresh minced ginger.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: TARENELLA
had some carrots that i needed to use up, and had all the other ingredients on hand except basil, substituted dill. excellent taste, but i use 1/4 t cayenne on a daily basis, and 1 T was even too much for me. my lips were tingly after every bite
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: GINA SCHNEIDER
Wow! This is way too spicy!! I made my first batch using only 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper and it was so incredibly spicy, I had to throw it away! I made a batch the following night without any cayenne and it was very good. Didn't even need salt and pepper. I love spicy foods but I couldn't help but wonder if the 1 tsp called for was typed incorrectly. Overall, the soup is very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Erica
This was my first time to make carrot soup -- we had an abundance of carrots in the fridge that needed to be used. It came out great, very creamy and mild, sweet flavor. I didn't have cayenne pepper, so I used a bit of chili powder instead.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches