My reviews (14)

Cheese and vegetable soup

A super-creamy, cheesy soup, which is packed full of chunky vegetables. Celery is simmered in a chicken stock with onion, potatoes, mixed vegetables and cheese. Perfect for a cold winter's night.
Reviews (14)


21 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: Irlandes
This was very good, and very easy to make. I love soup, and this one was just perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: CookingGirl
This was so delicious and filling. I served it on a cold snowy day.. I did alter it to my taste. I added one cup of beer (lager) and 1.5 cups of chicken broth instead of the water. Then I added frozen cubed hashbrowns instead of the potatoes. I added them after I added the cheese. I also chopped up some green onions as well as a regular onion because I love onions.. Served it up with some beer bread...Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: KBurt
This is one of my family favorites. I had lost my recipe and was delighted to find it here in allrecipes.com. I do not add the frozen mixed vegetables. Instead, I just used carrots. Everything else was the same. Thank you Shirley for contributing this wonderful soup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: janty
Fast, easy, delicious-two thumbs up-Jan in NC
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: Soup Loving Nicole
I made a couple of changes and let me explain why. The frozen veggie mix would work fast and fine I am sure but my opinion is that if you are going to take the time to chop fresh celery, potatoes, and onion then why not just use fresh broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots too? Again, it depends on what kind of time crunch you are in ( I would use frozen if in a hurry too) but as a rule of thumb, fresh is always better than frozen. Velveeta is very salty so if using the bouillon and water, I would recommend cutting back on the bouillon cubes. I chose to use 2 1/2 cups of low sodium chicken broth in place of the bouillon and it was still a little too salty so I cannot even imagine four cubes. With all of that said, I do think the soup could use some herbs. I ended up adding a little bit of dill and parsley. All in all this is a great soup, easy to make, and I will make again. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Christina Spakousky
Delicious! I added some fresh thyme and zucchinni; sauted the vegetables in fresh garlic and evoo. Warm and comforting especially when it was all I had in the house. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: SOONERMEL
This is a great, easy recipe! It freezes very well, too. Highly recommended.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: ALEX0596
This was an old family favorite and I had lost the recipe. Now I can make it for my family. Thanks. I also add a bag of real bacon bits to it. Instead of using celery, I add just a bit of celery salt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: pbbergen
Ive made this soup a few times with several variations such as adding some leftover Bruschetta chicken or mashed potatoes to thicken it a bit. Its always a hit at our house!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: FRANTOMS
Very good and very easy. Only thing I added were a few fresh muchrooms. Will make again for sure!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches