My reviews (312)

Best-Ever Chicken Tortilla Soup

This soup is super-easy to make and tastes absolutely delicious. Chicken, chicken stock, salsa, creamed style corn, herbs and spices are simmered together, then served with crumbled tortilla chips and grated Cheddar cheese.
Reviews (312)


Comment:
30 Aug 2010
hels said:
I didn't make the soup but having tasted it I certainly will make it in the future. It's a real meal in itself, serve for lunch with crusty bread- delicious!
 
05 May 2005
Reviewed by: Becky Fleming See
Fantastic Soup! I serve this in my coffeehouse and get nothing but rave reviews from my customers! I dump all of the ingredients in a crock pot in the morning, turn it to medium and it's ready by lunch. The only thing I do differently is to whisk about 1 1/2 cups flour into the chicken broth. This gives it a little thicker consistency. I also use dried onions instead of fresh and a large can of chicken (saves alot of time!). Try it, it will be one of your favorites!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Debbie N.
OMG!!!!! I can't say enough about this recipe. Every time I make it I get rave reviews and many requests for the recipe. I buy a rotisserie chicken from Costco, remove chicken in place of breasts) then boil the carcass along with the skin (to add additional flavor) then strain and use as the broth. I also use a couple cans of Rotel tomatoes with chiles in place of the salsa. You have to try this recipe. You will not regret it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Christine Laliberte
WOW I was disapointed. Not what I was looking for. I have been trying to find a recipe like the soup I get in resturants but this wasnt it. It was like corn chowder with chicken and spices. Very watery and a unappealing pinky color.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: evelynne
This soup was great! I doubled it, and used the meat from 2 whole chickens instead, and made my own broth. Adding tabasco gives it a good kick. Next time I think I'll saute some red peppers with the onions. If there are leftovers (if...) reduce the sauce, add some more chicken, and use as filling for enchiladas. add sauce and cheese on top. these were the best enchiladas i've ever tasted!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: Navy_Mommy
This was not what I wanted. It was bland and tasteless. I had to add a ton of hot sauce to give it some spice at all. My 2 year old wouldn't eat it even before I added the hot sauce. My husband took one look and opted for a sandwich. I suppose I could adjust the spices, but really based on the fat content I don't think it is worth it. I will try a different recipe next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: DrJill
This was very flavorful and yummy! I used 2C. half & half and 2C. skim milk and it was still very creamy. Like other reveiwers I also put some of the cheese directly in the soup. Next time I may add black beans.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: Amanda
Really good and easy. I confess that I was beginning to wonder as I combined the various ingredients (the creamed corn made me especially nervous), but it turned out to taste like what I'd expect from my favorite Mexican restaurant. My husband raved about it! Definitely a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Melissajean
Delicious recipe! I diced and cooked the chicken breasts with the onion mixture to save time. I pre-mixed 2 tbsp of cornstarch with the broth as a thickener instead of using flour. I substituted fat-free half and half and used only 2 cups. I also substituted a can of rotel for the salsa as suggested by another reviewer. I don't like creamed corn, so I used frozen corn instead. I garnished with the cheese, cilantro, sour cream, chips and diced avocado. Served with warmed, buttered flour tortillas. Yummy! Thank you for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: queendiva1
Mmmmmmmmmmm This soup is sooooo good! I'm so glad I stuck some in the freezer because I can't wait to eat it again! I used fat-free: broth, condensed soup and half-and-half and it turned out great, really cuts the calories down! I left out the cilantro & onion because my fresh salsa contained both and they're not my favorites. I'm a real wimp when it comes to spicy foods, and was so happy that this soup is full of wonderful flavor - but not HOT at all. Don't be afraid to try this! If you like spicy it's easy to adjust using a hotter salsa. I also recommend the Portuagese Fried Bread on this web-site to go with this soup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches