My reviews (30)

Chicken Sweetcorn Soup

This is a Mexican-inspired soup. Chicken is simmered with garlic, onions, adobo sauce, chopped tomatoes, sweetcorn and black beans. It's perfect for the cold winter months. Serve with grated cheese, if desired.
Reviews (30)


11 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: coolmoss
Wow, this was the best soup that I have ever made! My family raved about it and now wants me to make it once a week. I found it so easy and quick to make as well. Then only change I made was to use coriander as I didn't have any cilantro.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 May 2010
Reviewed by: Lorelei Gertz
I added dry adobo seasoning and simmered it with 2 dry chipotle peppers. The flavor turned out great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: Michelle Roth-Kiva
Although tasty, this just didn't wow me. In all fairness, I did make quite a few changes (hence my 4 star rating). As lateacher did, I also made this in my slow cooker. Where I went terribly wrong was following her advice to add the ENTIRE can of chipotle peppers to my soup. My husband commented that the soup itself was spicier than the sauce I made with the onion, garlic and reserved peppers! There was certainly NO need to add any of it to our soup! Thankfully, the cilantro and a hefty squirt of lime tamed most of the heat. Without them, we would have had to order pizza for dinner. I usually follow a new recipe to the letter (or only make slight changes to it) and am regretting I didn't this time. All in all, this was good but I'd bet it would be even better as written. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Rhayc! :-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Jenntheveggie
I chopped up two chilies in addition to the adobo sauce. I also threw in some bacon. My husband liked it a lot when I made it and LOVED it the next day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: JULIAE
WOW!! This soup is indescribable!!! Totally delish. I put in more garlic 'cuz I like garlic, and added NO water, but did everything else the same. You will LOVE it!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: ZvilleMom
I love this soup and appreciate that it is so easily customizable. I have used leftover turkey breast in place of chicken, and a can of chicken broth instead of the bouillon and water. I also find this is a great soup to cook in the crock pot. Just toss everything in and come back in a few hours. My husband likes it a bit more stew like so the last few times I have used cornstarch tempered in the broth to thicken it up a bit. But great either way.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Shelly Werner Costello
Yumm.....used more broth.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Susana
Adobo sauce gives this a great flavor and it's spicy. I added lime juice to match similar soups I've eaten in Mexico. Soup is ready in minutes! I used 2 boneless chick. breasts. My modification: used chicken broth, lots of garlic, skipped corn and beans (didn't have) and sugar; added zucchini, bit of salt and juice of 1-2 limes. Ready in minutes. Will serve with Mexican white cheese (queso fresco) and tortilla strips (soup is similar to some tortilla soups I had in Mexico) Note: it calls for the sauce from the can of the adobo with chili, not the chili and that alone is spicy. You can add chile but cautiously!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: mom430
Very easy to make and feeds my whole family. Just added some baked tortilla strips for more texture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: M. Stoffel
This was a yummy soup. I make a chicken tortilla soup often and wanted to give this a try for the chipotle twist. No problems with making the recipe, but why would you add sauce without the canned chipotle pepper it comes with? I used some of the sauce along with a big pepper chopped up. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches