My reviews (39)

Easy chicken shwarma

Chicken pieces sprinkled with garam masala and sautéed in clarified butter. Wrap in pitta with houmous and fresh veg for a nutritious midweek supper.
Reviews (39)


15 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: windedmama
Shwarma is a middle eastern dish and this recipe though not traditional is very good. After the chicken is done saute sliced onion and green pepper in the clarified butter until onions change colour to a light golden brown. Serve chicken with the sauted veggies rolled in warmed pitta bread. Accompany this with some plain or spiced yoghurt on the side and you have great meal. I went back and changed my ratings from 4 to 5 stars as this dish gets better everytime I make it. The last time I made it I served it with some houmous on the side and a green salad. Thanks for this easy yet outstanding recipe.
 
15 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: CearaB
I had this in pitta with veg and houmous as suggested and thought it tasted a bit plain.
 
15 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: COSTASCOTIA
This recipes is fantastic! It's easy to make and tastes fabulous - a nice change from day-to-day chicken. I ran out of garam masala and substituted with mutton masala - it tasted even better. Thanks Kathy!
 
15 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Michelle S
A great addition to any meal; rice; pasta; veggies
 
15 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: POOKEYFACE
This chicken is delicious!!!
 
15 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: UMM-OMAR
I served this dish to my non-Indian friends, and they loved it. I loved it for its ease in preparing. I did put in a bit of tamarind paste, though.
 
03 May 2003
Reviewed by: NKASAM
Shwarma is a middle eastern dish and this recipe though not traditional is very good. After the chicken is done saute sliced onion and green bell pepper in the clarified butter until onions change color to a light golden brown. Serve chicken with the sauted veggies rolled in warmed pita bread. Accompany this with some plain or spiced yogurt on the side and you have great meal. I went back and changed my ratings from 4 to 5 stars as this dish gets better everytime I make it. The last time I made it I served it with some hummus on the side and a green salad. Thanks for this easy yet outstanding recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: INFERNO451
Very good and very easy to make. Like other reviewers I sauted an onion and green pepper with additional garam masala. Also, I didn't have clarified butter (I only had Country Crock and I wasn't sure how that would turn out clarified) so I used olive oil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: TRAVELNPAT
This recipes is fantastic! It's easy to make and tastes fabulous - a nice change from day-to-day chicken. I ran out of garam masala and substituted with mutton masala - it tasted even better. Thanks Kathy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: KRISBEAWULF
I recommend cooking the chicken with chopped onions and garlic. Add a few whole cloves, just remember not to eat them. Add some chilli powder if you want it a bit hotter. Once the chicken has cooked through add either cream or coconut milk.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches