My reviews (63)

Curried Pineapple and Chicken Fried Rice

A totally scrumptious Thai-style fried rice dish. Chicken is stir-fried with curry powder, rice and pineapple chunks. Serve as a main course or a side dish for lunch or dinner.
Reviews (63)


30 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: stannius
I am the recipe author. I made this as an experiment and my wife keeps clamoring for more. That's how I know when I've got a hit. I have since found that the following additions/substitutions work well: Egg; red bell pepper; broccoli; shrimp; scallions.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 May 2010
Reviewed by: netka
We really enjoyed this rice. I added frozen sweet baby peas a few minute before serving and just mixed them into the hot rice so they could thaw. I also added a generous handful of bean sprouts at the last minute. I served this to company in half a pineapple, sliced on the diagonal and hollowed out. Looked and tasted GREAT!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 May 2010
Reviewed by: MichelleSuarez
This dish was great! I added cashews, zucchini and basil. I think any added veggie would be great! Also, I left out the fish sauce and it was still very yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Angela
The faces (and bellies) around the dinner table were very pleased with this recipe! I tweaked it just a bit - I replaced 1 cup of the water for the rice with coconut milk (70% cream). The result tasted a lot like one of my favorite dishes at a local Vietnamese restaurant. Next time: I'm doing a 50/50 split with coconut milk & water for the rice and I'll add cabbage, small broccoli florets & carrots. This dish is so tasty! And don't leave out the fish sauce!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: shrades
This was SOO good. I gave it 5 stars even though i added some other ingredients because the pineapple, curry powder, and fish sauce mix was superb and I would have never thought it would add so much ooph to fried rice. I recommend cooking the rice in advance and putting it in the fridge because its easier to fry if its cold. I used frozen shrimp and thawed it and removed the tails. I only used maybe 8 oz of pineapple and it was plenty. I chopped them too so it would blend better. I added 3 eggs, scrambled separately, chopped carrots, 1 clove minced garlic, and peas. I feel like these ingredients are a staple in fried rice. Also I used 3 tablespoons of sesame oil instead of vegetable oil and it adds nice flavor. DEEEEEEEELICIOUS! New fave recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 May 2010
Reviewed by: Littldot
I didnt add the fish sauce, but did add mushrooms, and the kids loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 May 2010
Reviewed by: jlnguyen
Very nice flavor. I cut the pineapple chunks in half to make them blend more subtly with the fried rice. Also added some chopped veggies and cashews. YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 May 2010
Reviewed by: suz
Great dish! I used tofu instead of meat and it was a great flavorful dish. I served it with roasted asparagus and sliced oranges and my family had seconds.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Neeley
This was a really great weeknight meal. I used 1/2 an onion, shrimp instead of chicken and all of the pineapple juice from the can. I also added 1/2 a bag of broccoli. Served with eggrolls. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: raving_girrrrl
This recipe is great. It's easy and tasty. I aded cashews, a scrambled egg, a dash of cinnamon, and a dash of cumin. I will totally be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches