My reviews (16)

Simple Oyster Stew

A simple, yet delicious stew. Smoked oysters are heated in butter and then simmered with single cream. It's creamy and delicate in flavour. Serve with crusty bread.
Reviews (16)


14 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: LAURALLI
I wanted to change a few things on this recipe, it turns my father had copied it down wrong. Although this is a recipe from my dads family, my grandmother taught my mother how to make it. When I fixed a pot last night I was so disappointed, I called mom and discovered dad had given me his
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: bakergirl
excellent! perfect! exactly how my grandmother made it... simple and delicious! if others want to stick a bunch of other stuff it in - fine - let them do it individually... as for me ... I'll take the simple taste of this delicious oyster stew
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: Wilemon
Very bland as is. I melted 1/2 cup butter in the pan, added the oysters with the juice, added garlic salt, paprika, and celery seed. Cooked the oysters until done, added 2% milk and heated through. Much better with these additions. By adding the oyster juice it actually tasted like oyster stew.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Mary
Oyster stew is meant to be simple and mild, just like this one! I normally use some half and half and some milk. I love a recipe which never takes away from the main ingredient, the oysters!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Nikki Shirah
This is a simple and easy recipe. I know it may not suit a lot of tastes but it is just like the one my mother made. I wouldn't change a thing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Kim in Kansas
Oyster stew has been a family tradition every Christmas Eve, and we also light luminaries. My grandma had everyone over before church, then my parents, and now my husband and I host whoever is available to stop by. I saute the drained oysters in the butter, then add some of the juice from the cans, 2% milk and half-n-half with salt and pepper to taste. We have to have about one can of oysters per person. This is a simple recipe and perfect just the way it is.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Jill-Vanee' McDonnell
I grew up with the same tradition on Christmas Eve having Oyster Stew and Chili and I can't tell you how many people think that's strange so maybe we're long lost relatives. I'm almost postive this is the same recipe that my grandmother used, but once I started making it on my own I added a few things. I like it a little more thick like a stew so a make a reux with butter, flour and chopped onion. Once the oysters have been sauteed in the butter and the reux is done I combine everything, including the half and half into one put and add a splash of worchestire sauce. I love this stew and look forward to passing this tradition on to my own two daughters as long as I can get them to try it. I may have to do what my grandmother did and tell them it's potatoe soup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Tracy
I love this simple dish. My dad used to make this when we were kids. He added salt, pepper and a little worcestershire.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: MARREY
I added worcestire sauce.about 3 shakes and it was great! will make this alot.thanks for the recipe.Iused whole milk,did not halve half and half.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: Boujie
This recipe isn't very good - horribly bland. Skip it and open a can of Campbells.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches