My reviews (22)

Venison in a Jar

Use this preserved venison recipe for soups, stews or as a sandwich filler. You could also warm it up an serve with pasta, rice or potatoes. A great way to store venison when in-season.
Reviews (22)


13 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: DanMan
This is great! I can everything but the back straps, and it tastes great from head to tail! And it does not matter if its an old buck or a little doe it always comes out delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: cmb22
Very good, very easy, great way to use venison. I always do venison this way. When butchering, I save the back straps, loins, jerky roasts, and some for burger or brats. Then I can the rest. It last years and keeps the flavor. Extremely fast and easy to pull out, warm up in a pan, mix in some corn starch/water for gravy, then serve over mashed potatoes or noodles. You should try if you are canning capable.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: gina w
In the past I have done something similar but only used kosher salt. The minced garlic and onion add to it. I love having the meat canned - it is super easy to make deer and noodles or stews/soups
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: starlogva
I'm not the biggest fan of venison, but this recipe is delicious. We got an old buck this year and I was concerned it might be too game-y. I mostly followed the recipe (without the peppers), but I didn't mix the meat and spices in a bowl first. It produces so much liquid that the spices get well-mixed during the canning process. I used quart jars (must process for 90 minutes). I placed the cubed venison in the jars with some onion and a few garlic cloves on top. I sprinkled the salt and pepper on top of that. I used 1 teaspoon for the quart and found it to be almost a little too salty, so the next time I made it, I used slightly less than 1 tsp. It's not the most attractive concoction in a clear jar, but it's really tasty and tender. We gave some to a friend who absolutely loved it. We've used it as is and mixed with bbq sauce, seasoned black beans, or a canned tomato/black-eyed pea mix. It's very versatile. It's a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Junkerjunk
You don't state what size jar you are using, pints? If so, quarts should be processed for 90 minutes, correct?
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Can_It_Rachael
We love canned venison and with several deer hunters in our house this is a great way to use some of the meat. People that swear they won't eat venison, love this and usually ask to take a jar home. This can be processed in quarts too. Just adjust your time in the pressure canner to 90 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: minette
I love this recipe but I do add one clove garlic per quart jar adding equal amount spices, onion,peppers divided up for each jar for more exact flavor. Makes excellant sandwich spread when you open a canned jar up pour into a bowl just add mayo or miracle whip what ever is your favorite and pickle relish mix to combine slather onto your favorite bread and enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: Ann Marie Strong
If you are canning meat, you MUST use a pressure canner. Meat is a low acid food and a hot water bath canner will not heat up enough to kill botulism spores no matter how long you can them. Only the steam of a pressure canner gets hot enough. You can only use hot water bath safely for high acid foods like jams and salsa.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: Stocky
Rather than salt, I use 2 bouillon cubes, as they are mostly salt, and add a little flavor. (I do quart jars). Some jars get a few mushrooms added as well. 4 or five jalapeno slices add a nice mild heat and great flavor. No need to be shy with the garlic either.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: KAMI4
awesome!!!! Better than a roast that has been in the crock pot all day
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches