My reviews (77)

Sweet Vanilla Biscuits

These biscuits are lightly puffed, sweet and crispy. If you'd like buttery biscuits, use unsalted butter instead of margarine. Serve with a cup of tea or coffee, with ice cream or on their own.
Reviews (77)


02 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: christinacooks
I have mixed feelings about this recipe. I did have to use all 6 cups of flour, and even then it was too sticky to roll out, so instead of adding even more flour, I just dropped the batter onto the cookie sheet with two spoons. The flavor was definitely flat, so I added 1 tbsp vanilla, 1 tbsp butter flavoring, and 1 tsp orange extract(though I think almond would be better). I must admit, after adding additional flavorings, I ate 5 of them right off of the cookie sheet (oops). I am refrigerating the rest of the dough, hoping that it will firm up so it can be rolled out. Definitely a soft, cakelike puffy cookie. Definitely a keeper, but still looking for that perfect recipe...
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Elise
I gave it a 3 ... honestly there wasnt any flavor and once cooled ; the cookies were rock hard.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: LBS3
Wow. This uses alot of flour! Be prepared to use half a bag, no kidding. Overall it turns out to be really cakey and puffy and has a real nutmeg taste. So, if you like them thin and crunchy this is not the one for you. But, if you like them puffy and don't mind adding cup after cup of flour to work through the very sticky dough, try it. I will use less nutmeg next time. A little spicy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: BKUCK
I followed this recipe exactly, even baked them on parchment paper like it said. The flavor of the cookie was good, but as far as it puffing up, it did not! I don't know what bakery this cookie was in but it is not a good recipe. I want a recipe that my grandmother made, but unfortunitly it died with her. I was hoping this one was close to it, but it is no where close. These are the flattest cookies I ever baked! Had to put them on the cookie sheet with a miniture ice cream scoop cause you would have to add gobs of extra flour to ever roll these out! I expected a round cookie that was thick in the center and soft. This was a disapointment.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: chicchick
I think that this recipe was just wasting my time. The recipe does puff up,and looks rather good, but the cookie itself tastes like nothing. It does not taste good, even with icing. Don't waste your time on this tasteless recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Mrs.T777
This is close to my Grandmas cookies. They puffed up beautifully. I added more vanilla than recipe called for. The only problem is they do not have much flavor. I will make again but tweak it. They were not as moist as I hoped. But I know they can be tweaked. But over all not bad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: jmbh
The cookies puffed up exactly as promised, however they puffed up too much to hold their shape. I ended up only adding 1 more cup of flour (5 total). They tasted all right, but not like lofthouse cookies and they were missing something. I couldn't taste the nutmeg at all. I think more vanilla and substituting some butter for part of the shortening might make them better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Billie Tejada
These cookies are average at best. The texture is great and they hold a shape for easy decoration however thats all they got going for them. The flavor is not bad its just not good either. For me they make a great way to serve frosting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Berni
One of the best I have ever tried. I have made these about 5 times in just the last 3 weeks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Linda
I love these cookies with the butter frosting! The recipe yields a pile of cookies, too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches