My reviews (75)

Popcorn Pumpkins

The perfect sweet treat for Halloween. Melted marshmallows and popcorn are coloured orange, then shaped into pumpkin shapes with a liquorice stalk. They are sweet, crunchy and chewy.
Reviews (75)


30 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: The Messy Cook
This recipe was very good and fast to make...here are a few suggestions: 1. Beware of left over kernels from microwave popcorn, they definitely can hurt a tooth. Popping your own popcorn on the stove prevents this and is just as fast. 2. Put a couple cubes of caramel in the marshmellow sauce, this really makes a diffence! I did one sauce with and one without...the caramels add something that was lacking. 3. For a more vibrant orange use 4 drops of red and 5 drops of yellow. 4. Add few loose marshmellows to the popcorn mixture. 5. To evenly distribute the candy corn and peanuts, pour them ontop of the popcorn and then pour the sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: ZOINKS
TIP: put popcorn in a brown paper lunch bag (no oil necessary) and microwave it. This is healthier than the chemical kind you buy. It is also easier than shaking a pan on the stove. Once popped, Tear a small hole in one corner of the brown bag and shake your popcorn over the trash can to get the unpopped kernels to fall out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: CarolinaCook
This recipe is great! It's very fun for kids and adults. If you buy bagged popcorn do not buy really buttery popcorn. This recipe adds butter to the mixture - you don't want to over do it. The salty and sweet mix together very well. If you don't follow the recipe you won't get a 5 star result. Hope this helps! Thanks for the recipe. The kids at Day Care Loved them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: meowmix318
Excellent and a great way to use up candy corn. I couldn't stop eating these! Made these last night and added in roasted peanuts and m&m's. I only used 1/4 cup of butter instead as well. And decided to insert pretzel sticks instead and wraped these nicely in little baggies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Duckball
Oh, to be the first review will less than a five! I used about 6½ cups of popcorn and I omitted the peanuts and candy corn (I wanted it to be a little LESS bad for us). I did use the licorice, and it took a lot more yellow food colouring to get orange. The only problem I had was that there was way too much butter. Next time, I would use half as much because I ended up with a pool of it separating from the marshmallow after melting and mixing them together. It was fun, though, and we certainly don't regret trying the recipe! I will try it again with a few more changes, and maybe I'll add some Rice Krispies or corn flakes in with the popcorn. Thanks for sharing, Aleta.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Kelly
This is a great recipe for classroom treats. My kids loved helping to make them and everyone ate them right up. I added a leaf to the pumpkin, by dying some extra popcorn green and placing one at the base of each stem, made them even cuter! I also used a thick pretzel stick for the stem instead of licorice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Mrs Nault
This was fun & the kids loved how they turned out....I used plain as can be popcorn and followed the recipe exactly and I have to agree with "Duckball" and say that it was way too buttery. Because of all the butter, these ended up not very sweet at all, and so soft that the licorice would not stay in place. Other than that it was overall a good recipe. I will try this recipe again, with a few changes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Cookies
Thank you for such an easy, fun and very creative recipe! I am always on the hunt for cute recipe ideas like this one! I used Wilton's orange concentrated paste instead of the food colouring drops. I didn't add any peanuts (these are going to a peanut free school zone) but instead I added 1C of marshmallows w/ the candy corn and stirred them in. (They didn't melt. So there is whole mini-marshmallows in every bite) I used green apple flavoured licorice for the stems. I only got 10 pumpkins out of this recipe. THX
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: TabithaandMurphy
I doubled the recipe and it came out perfect! I followed the instructions exactly except I omited the stems (I instead individually wrapped them in cellophane and tied with black ribbons). Thanks for posting - these will be fun to play around with for different holidays!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Nikki Barker
This is a smaller version than my mom makes for christmas popcorn balls and it it is great!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches