My reviews (139)

Frosted Italian Cookies

These cookies are super-moist, this is because ricotta is added to the batter. The cookies are then frosted with a vanilla icing. They are delicious with a cuppa, for dessert or on their own.
Reviews (139)


12 Jan 2017
Reviewed by: Penypentre
Used this recipe to finish off half a tub of ricotta left over from a previous pasta dish. I halved the recipe and the cookies turned out fine. I thought the icing was a step too far so I left it off. One tip however - don't store these in a container. They will become too soft and sticky. They're best left out in the air, where they will soon be gobbled up.
 
09 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: BROZZY
I have an Italian co-worker who makes the most amazing cookies for the holiday potluck. She calls them "love knots" and I covet them. This recipe is so close that I'm calling it a match. I can't tell my co-worker...I'm afraid I could end up with concrete shoes in the bottom of the river! The dough is very soft so I set it in the fridge for 30 minutes and used a Pampered Chef small scoop to form the cookies (approx 1 tablespoon), then placed on parchment paper. They did not spread much so 2 inches apart is more than sufficient. These cookies are not golden (until you lift them off the pan). They are done when they don't look wet/shiny. Make sure to allow the cookies to rest for 5 minutes before removing them from the pan. You won't be disappointed! I ended up with just over 50 small rounded cookies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: ANNIESMYTH
I always loved these and was happy to find the recipe again. They definitely need the frosting as they're not overly sweet. Be careful not to overbake as they don't get a golden color like most cookies do when they're done.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: Missy1
These were so good! I normally only like cookies with some kind of chocolate in them, but I had some ricotta in the fridge and didn't know what to do with it. I agree with a previous reviewer that you really have to check these because you don't want to overbake them. They don't look done at 8 or 9 minutes, but they probably are. Check the bottoms to make sure they're a light golden brown color. Thank you, Pam for this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: janny b
Perfetto! Every year we put on a little Italian festival at our shop, and are always looking for the right treats to share with our customers. We used to order yummy tiramisu cupcakes, but our baker retired...so we searched at the last minute for a little sweet morsel to serve, and these cookies were perfect! I changed the servings to 96, and we made up a great batch for a crowd (we made them a bit smaller, to stretch it a bit). I did add a bit of lemon zest, which added some nice flavor. Tonight I'm going to make them again (not 96 of them, though!) and I'll add a dash of limoncello. Delizioso!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: barbs cookin'
this recipe brought rave reviews. I followed this exactly,except used 15 oz ricotta and used almond extract for the glaze. My family went nuts for them. Thhey dont look done after the time given,but they are done. they are mor eof a cake and super moist. Bravo!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: DISNEYLANDGODDESS
This is the perfect recipe to use up extra ricotta. The cookies are so moist and light. I ran out of vanilla before making the frosting, so I added about a teaspoon of lemon extract to cut the sweetness a little bit -- came out great. One note -- I ended up with about 5 dozen cookies, not 3 dozen, and I was making them even larger than the recipe called for! Also had a lot of extra frosting, so I would cut that down a bit (unless you like them smothered!).
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: What a Dish!
These were so interesting! More like a little cake than a cookie, and not much flavor until frosted. Kind of spongy. I didn't have enough ricotta so I had to use about 1/2 cup light sour cream (might have caused the sponginess...) I put in some almond extract, which was delicious. Even though they were kind of funny looking, the whole family enjoyed them, and they were very easy to make!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: ChrissyCrowe
Most amazing cookies ever! You have to try them. They dont spread as much as you would think, so dont worry about that. Also, I omitted one egg and addded more ricotta. Good stuff, easy, and I love them!! Thanks for this excellent recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Sharon
Absolutely delicious! I have been looking for a great italian cookie recipe - mission accomplished, I will be making these every Easter - a new tradition! Used a cookie spoon to keep uniform size, do not add more flour, this is a moist cookie dough. Icing suggestions - made the icing according to recipe, divided into 2 bowls. In one I added 1/2 teaspoon pure almond flavoring, one drop of red food coloring and enough milk to thin to a glaze. The other I added orange juice to thin to a glaze, then dipped slightly warm cookie in glaze. Decorated with various cookie sprinkles, crushed walnuts on orange iced cookies - a pretty and delicious cookie, family loved them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches