My reviews (16)

Michelada

This is a Mexican alcoholic drink. A salted rim mug is filled with salt, lemon juice, hot pepper sauce, soy sauce, tomato and claim juice mix and cold beer. It's delicious and refreshing.
Reviews (16)


15 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: NA
I'm reviewing this reluctantly, as clearly the submitter and her family, and others enjoy this. But this was really not very good, and after doing some looking, it seems that the proportions are "backwards" from most michelada recipes. This had one part beer to 3 of clamato -- the majority of recipes are showing 1 part clamato to 3 or 4 parts beer! No offense, but to me, this ended up being bizarre tomato juice, rather than a beer cocktail. I think I will try a more "straight" version, and honestly, I hope someone posts "the usual" version so that there's better representation and choice regarding this drink.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 May 2010
Reviewed by: The Shelby Sensation
The only changes I made are to use worchestershire sauce and fresh key lime juice instead of lemon and soy sauce. You may also want to try it with an authentic Mexican beers like Modelo Especial or the like. Great way to beat the Texas summertime heat!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 May 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
A friend of mine made this for me from scratch using these ingredients back when I first started drinking, only she used worchestershire sauce instead of soy and lime juice instead of lemon juice. It's sort of like a Bloody Beer, only clammy. It's a must try at least once in your life. I have this at least once a summer. It's an acquired taste, but really a great spin on your usual summer drinks. NOTE: You can cut out the middle man and use Bloody Mary Mix, if you're low on ingredients.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 May 2012
Reviewed by: Tracy Black
This is actually a Canadian drink originally. Up hear we called it a "Red Eye" Only we use a whole beer, fill the remainder of the glass with clamato and spice it up.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 May 2010
Reviewed by: gorgeousred
I used Budweiser and added a shaking of garlic pepper and a splash of lime juice to the current recipe--Ola!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: fd
We make one similar to this, but we use worchestershire sauce instead of soy sauce, limes instead of lemons and instead of salt we use cajun seasoning. An oyster bar we go to takes an additional step and adds one raw oyster and one cooked shrimp. It tastes better than it sounds.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: AZ
I have had many versions of this ranging from just Clamato and beer to this well seasoned and flavored version. What I liked about this was that it tasted like a Bloody Mary, but more refreshing, and you can definitely drink more of them! i would say that the proportions are a little off - certainly it equals 16 oz, which is right for a mug, but after you add the ice, there is leftover. For two drinks, I doubled and mixed all the ingredients for the seasoned tomato juice, and split about 60% of it between two mugs that were filled with ice, then I had the seasoned juice on the side for the next round!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: stacy
Instead of the soy sauce, a little pickled green olive juice or also have tried with a dash of red wine. Along with the lemon or lime, and the clamato & dash of tabasco.... proportion to taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: TC
A friend of mine called these Mean Cerveza's and they also had a bit of Worcestershire sauce in em... Love it Basically a Bloody Mary with beer!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Judy
We didn't have Clamato so substituted jarred "Better Than Boullion clam base" for these. We used about 1/8 tsp to 1/4 tsp per michelada and mixed that up with the rest of the ingredients. They were delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches